Release - Engineering TV episodes

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Wally25 Offline
Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 3
Location: Ireland
Video  Engineering TV episodes
Post: #1
plugin.video.engineeringtv

[Image: icon.png]

What it is: http://www.engineeringtv.com
Engineering TV episodes. Penton Media launched EngineeringTV in 2007 across its design engineering group which includes Electronic Design, Machine Design, Power Electronics Technology, Microwaves & RF, Mobile Dev & Design, Medical Design, Motion System Design, Source ESB and Electronic Design Europe. Since that time it has generated millions of page views and hundreds of thousands of unique visitors.

Features:
  • Links to Youtube Channel. http://www.youtube.com/user/engineeringtv
  • Support to set Viwemodes for current skin or any custom viewmode under settings. Supports all skins as of 2015-02-20.
  • Add-To / View Playlist via Context Menu.
  • View the Related Videos of any video via Context Menu.
  • All HTTP Resources are cached localy for speed improvements, allowing for HTTP 304 not modified support.
  • Any HTTP Resource can be forced refreshed via Context Menu.
  • Ability to make and save searches
Tested with Helix on:
Windows, Linux

Download:
This add-on can be found in the official kodi.tv add-on repository.
This add-on can also be downloaded from my Git Repo.

Change log:
Code:
Version 2.0.0 2015-02-20
- Fixed backkup video url scraper
- Removed download support
- Changed to use the YouTube V3 API
- Changed to auto select content type
- Changed to auto select sort methods
- Changed settings.xml to use new methods for setting view mode
- Changed to return a generator instead of a list
- Some small method renames

Version 1.0.2 2014-06-30
- Update Strings to strings.po
- Added UnitTests
- Added Most Recent video catagory
- Minor speed improvements by reducing the number of redirects
- And a lot more small improvements

Source Code: https://github.com/willforde/plugin.video.engineeringtv
Note If you get error "Dependencies not met". You may need to install the latest script.module.xbmcutil addon.
(This post was last modified: 2015-02-21 20:00 by Wally25.)
find quote
pdalger Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mar 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
This addon looks promising but none of the videos will play. Is this addon broken?
find quote
Wally25 Offline
Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 3
Location: Ireland
Post: #3
O crap. I must check that out but unfortunately I don't have
any proper Internet right now. Just my mobile. Will fix as soon as I can.
Had a big storm where I live.
find quote
pdops Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 2
Location: Alberta Canada
Post: #4
The YouTube channel links work fine. Hope you're surviving the storm OK.
find quote
Wally25 Offline
Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 3
Location: Ireland
Post: #5
I think that I have a temporary fix if anyone is interested in testing.
Just go to plugin.video.engineeringtv/resources/lib/main.py and change line 147

From: url = re.findall('link=(\S+?)" autoplay controls poster', sourceCode)[0]
To: url = re.findall('src=\\"(http://\S+?)" autoplay controls poster', sourceCode)[0]
find quote
pdops Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 2
Location: Alberta Canada
Post: #6
No joy with the temporary fix for me but I'm a newbie with this stuff. I used WinSCP and edited this file

/home/pi/.xbmc/addons/plugin.video.engineeringtv/resources/lib/main.py

When I try to play a movie I get "An unexpected error has occurred" I then rebooted and tried again with the same error.
find quote
Lunatixz Online
Moderator
Posts: 3,415
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 70
Location: New York
Post: #7
(2014-02-16 23:05)pdops Wrote:  No joy with the temporary fix for me but I'm a newbie with this stuff. I used WinSCP and edited this file

/home/pi/.xbmc/addons/plugin.video.engineeringtv/resources/lib/main.py

When I try to play a movie I get "An unexpected error has occurred" I then rebooted and tried again with the same error.

Same, otherwise I was enjoying this plugin Smile

[Image: m86j8t6]
[Image: nm9wgdf]
PseudoTV[Live][Lite][Library][Manager][Donate?][Thank & 5★ Me!]

find quote
pdops Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 2
Location: Alberta Canada
Post: #8
Wally25 are you still dealing with the aftermath of the storm?
find quote
Wally25 Offline
Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 3
Location: Ireland
Post: #9
I have fixed and updated the addon. Here is the list of changes for version 1.0.1
- Fixed Video Url Scraper After Site Changed, Now Has Better Video Quality
- Added a Fallback Video Scraper if main Scraper Failes
- Added Search with Save Searches Support
- Added Support for Related Videos via context menu
- Added Full Unicode Support
(This post was last modified: 2014-02-25 16:52 by Wally25.)
find quote
pdops Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 2
Location: Alberta Canada
Post: #10
Thanx for the fixes and update. I tried a couple of movies which both played OK.
find quote
pdops Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 2
Location: Alberta Canada
Post: #11
When selecting 'Play All' from the context menu the first video plays fine but then it errors out ('Problem loading video' or some such). This has happened several times and in different categories of videos.
find quote
Wally25 Offline
Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 3
Location: Ireland
Post: #12
Interesting, Will look into that. Thanks for testing.
Bugs will always find there way in.
find quote
Wally25 Offline
Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 3
Location: Ireland
Post: #13
(2014-02-26 00:30)pdops Wrote:  When selecting 'Play All' from the context menu the first video plays fine but then it errors out ('Problem loading video' or some such). This has happened several times and in different categories of videos.

Unfortunately I can't seam to recreate the problem that you are having. If I may ask, what version of xbmc are you running and what type of Operating System are you running it on. Thanks
find quote
pdops Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 2
Location: Alberta Canada
Post: #14
RaspbMC on a Raspberry Pi
find quote
Wally25 Offline
Member
Posts: 61
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 3
Location: Ireland
Post: #15
Give me a few day and i should be able to test that out on my own Pi. But someone else has it at the moment.
find quote
Post Reply