DTS MA HD , working fine yet the PS3 still sounds better.
Hi all,

Have been doing this for a long time but am not a complete technical nut about audio quality to the point that I spend thousands of dollars on speakers etc. But I am a computer networking engineer and have a pretty deep understanding of computer side of HTPC play back of HD Video and audio. I consider what I have set up to be pretty good by my ears and while I am getting older I can still generally tell the difference between good audio and lousy compressed audio.

I have had a PS3 since the original came out and I use it as my primary Bluray player. I also take the BluRays that I watch frequently and have turned some of them into MKV's.

I know this lowers the video quality and that is not in question or at all up for debate. My point for bringing it up is that when I convert these to MKV I have tried various things with the audio. But mainly I retain the DTS MA HD or the Dolby True HD etc as the original audio un-altered.

Now we come to the crux of my situation. What other than the DAC inside the PS3 would contribute to it sounding noticeably better and fuller when it is playing the same audio stream as XBMC both through HDMI into the same receiver etc.

Again I fully understand all of the moving parts when dealing with playback and configuration of these formats through a PC and have literally, many years of experience doing this. So this is not a simple configuration issue, in fact I am fairly certain its likely a basic difference it the playback of audio from XBMC as opposed to a dedicated player.

I am simply trying to understand if anything on the PC side can be changed to bring it more in line with the PS3 or understanding what the PS3 is doing that is able to bring out the sound better.

Below are the components involved.

Motherboard GIGABYTE Z77X-UP5 TH
BD Player - Original Fat PS3 using the convert to LPCM setting to get the HD audio to the receiver