A quick look over my build
Hi Folks,

I first used XBMC in its iteration on the XBOX and ever since then have wanted to build a full HTPC. Well I finally have the budget now and was wondering if you good folks could look it over and let me know of any red flags? Specifically (note: I intend to use OpenElec and use the CIR header using the Inteset receiver) :
  • Am I going to have issues in Linux with the AMD drivers (DTS, Dolby etc over HDMI)?
  • Will this setup be enough to play animated HI10P files?
  • Is there going to be issues with the ASRock CIR drivers in Linux/OpenElec?
  • Is there going to be issues with the refresh rate?
I am not expecting an answer to all these questions from one person but if you could answer even some that would be great! I have been using Debian since Woody so I have some linux background and have had to compile my kernel before so I have some rudimentary understanding of the OS so I am hoping to have less issue there but still possible as I am not an expert by any means.

Would you suggest any changes either? I have tried to pick as many parts as I can pickup locally to avoid shipping costs, the only thing I couldn't find was the motherboard which I'll have to get from NCIX.

PCPartPicker part list / Price breakdown by merchant

CPU: AMD A6-5400K 3.6GHz Dual-Core Processor ($64.99)
Motherboard: ASRock FM2A85X Extreme4-M Micro ATX FM2 Motherboard ($109.99)
Memory: Corsair XMS3 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($69.88)
Storage: OCZ Vertex 60GB 2.5" Solid State Disk (Purchased For $0.00)
Case: Fractal Design Node 605 HTPC Case ($149.99)
Power Supply: Corsair CX 430W 80+ Bronze Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply ($49.99)
IR Receiver: ASRock Internal CIR Receiver with Plexiglass Window and Shipping ($30.00)
Total: $474.84
(Prices include shipping, taxes, and discounts when available.)
(Generated by PCPartPicker 2013-12-10 09:29 EST-0500)