From Subtitles add-on to subtitles service. The no-trouble How-to.

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Thread Closed
nickr Offline
Donor
Posts: 11,515
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 208
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #196
Please identify where in that log you search for a subtitle?

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button and increase my reputation :)
find
korgis Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #197
Installed the service OpenSubtitle and adjustment were inserted data for logging their website.After starts of the film click on the button (small screen) and then click on the "subtitles" After that appears Opensubtitle service and the message "Searching subtitle ..." and so is until tomorrow Smile

P. S. Yesterday happened to me a coincidence that the first "Search" found the subtitles (english) because I configured the settings.Now then tried with subtitles by Serbs, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, but the result was "Searchin subtitle ......" Repeat the back to adjust subtitles "English" and again the same result "Searchin subtitle ......" Sad
(This post was last modified: 2014-10-22 10:24 by korgis.)
find
tnuc Offline
Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 2
Post: #198
And a Debug Log with all that is where?
find
korgis Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #199
I hope that my problem here http://pastebin.com/CEGvNbyJ
refers to the number of post #191
Thank you all for your patience !!
(This post was last modified: 2014-10-27 10:41 by korgis.)
find
h4wkm00n Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #200
Hi everyone,

Like others, I'm having trouble getting subtitles to work since the last big change.
The subtitle features in the previous versions of XBMC were really great, and will be in the future. As for now, it is a pain.

I've read the 1st post, and as many docs as I could find. Nothing works completely.

I'm using xmbc on a raspberry with raspmbc, and on a HTPC, on ubuntu (XBMC 13.2).

As for the subtitle services, I have 3 issues to talk about

1st : Temp dirs don't seem to be created. So all the subtitle services I've tried fail with
Code:
Error Contents: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: '/home/pi/.xbmc/userdata/addon_data/service.subtitles.XXXXX/temp/'
I've commented the recreations of temp dirs, and the scripts can go on.

2nd : Opensubtiles.org (updated today) fails with message :
Code:
16:13:04 T:2667574336   ERROR: GetDirectory - Error getting plugin://service.subtitles.opensubtitles/?action=download&link=http://dl.opensubtitles.org/en/download/subad/src-api/xxxxxxxxxx/5880611/xxxxxxxxx&ID=1954459004&filename=The.Walking.Dead.S05E04.HDTV.x264-KILLERS.srt&format=srt
I can say that I can download the zip file manually from the command-line, with the same user as xbmc. Maybe it expects the file to be a plain srt file. Or is it again a temp dir issue ?

3rd : Super subtitles fails with message :
Code:
15:59:46 T:2667574336   ERROR: OnDownloadComplete - Saving of subtitle /home/pi/.xbmc/userdata/addon_data/service.subtitles.supersubtitles/temp/Once_Upon_a_Time_-_04x06_-_Family_Business.DIMENSION.English.C.orig.Addic7ed.com.srt to special://temp/Once.Upon.a.Time.2011.S04E06.HD.TV-DIMENSION.en.srt failed
NOTICE: special://temp/ is mapped to: /home/pi/.xbmc/temp (wich is obvioulsy read-writable for pi user.)

I hope this will help you to help us.
find
Merdique Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Feb 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #201
Hello! I know it's taboo to ask questions and not hail the new subtitle mechanism, but I just wonder, "search by parent folder" will never be implemented again will it?
find
tnuc Offline
Member
Posts: 54
Joined: Sep 2014
Reputation: 2
Post: #202
No, not really... Since the focus is on movies that are already loaded in the library and name/season/episode is already abailable to us.
find
puppinoo2 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Apr 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #203
Hi,
Sorry if this has already been answered (I'm new).
I watch many online streaming contents.
When online services don't find the right subtitles I want to point to a specific fodler and select a specific .srt (even if it has a different filename). With older Subtitles system was easy. With new I wasn't able to do that I even selected a custom folder but It doesn't give me the chance to browse in it.
Any help is appreciated.

Thanks.

Pino.
find
suheyl Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Aug 2013
Reputation: 0
Location: Netherlands
Post: #204
Hi everyone,

I've installed Kodibuntu this weekend. Everything works fine, except the plug-ins. When I try to search for subtitles, it starts searching but nothing happens... Same issue with YouTube, starts opening stream and nothing happens.
Is there a possibitly that I have to grant a user rigths on a specific location?
find
nickr Offline
Donor
Posts: 11,515
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 208
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #205
debug log (wiki)

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button and increase my reputation :)
find
Vestiaz Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #206
Hi, I,m playing with strm,s built with Hive addon (http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=208702) for building my colection in Kodi.

The addon creates the strm with this structure:

A file called whatever.strm that contents:

plugin://plugin.video.hive/?mode=video&title=VIDEO_TITLE&filename=CODE

So, if I do an scraper, Kodi tries to find movie from name of strm file and does well.

But, once movie is in colection, subtitles addon searches subtitles from VIDEO_TITLE inside strm file instead of searching exactly the movie that has been recognized by scraper.

Is there a way for changing that behaviour?
find
im_deaf Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Mar 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #207
Might be the wrong spot to post but, when watching a tv show, say season one. If the season. Kicks off with part 1 and 2, usually part one shows both parts in one. Now the problem is, subtitles still follows the number order, basically the subs are now for the show ahead, not current. I hope I explained it right.
find
jurrabi Online
Moderator
Posts: 211
Joined: Jan 2005
Reputation: 5
Location: Las Palmas, Canary Islands
Post: #208
(2015-02-18 11:16)Vestiaz Wrote:  ...
So, if I do an scraper, Kodi tries to find movie from name of strm file and does well.

But, once movie is in colection, subtitles addon searches subtitles from VIDEO_TITLE inside strm file instead of searching exactly the movie that has been recognized by scraper.

Is there a way for changing that behaviour?

The problem is with the video plugin. Subtitles download don't use Library data, but video playing data. For normal library files the player fills that with library info.

But when a plugin plays content, it decides how to populate playing data. Yours is giving the video VIDEO_TITLE as name, hence your problems.

There are other video plugins that do a better job and work fine.

So your prayers should be directed to the plugin creator...

PS. Will everybody stop asking question in this Tutorial thread?

Always read the XBMC Online Manual,Frequently Asked Questions and search the forum before posting.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting use -> Log file.
Read the new posting policy!

find
jurrabi Online
Moderator
Posts: 211
Joined: Jan 2005
Reputation: 5
Location: Las Palmas, Canary Islands
Post: #209
Closed. Use the forum to post your issue.

Always read the XBMC Online Manual,Frequently Asked Questions and search the forum before posting.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting use -> Log file.
Read the new posting policy!

find
Thread Closed