Linux - [HOW TO] XBMC Linux on Geniatech Devices incl. Helix Builds

  Thread Rating:
  • 4 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
bodgit Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 0
Location: Gros Islet, St Lucia
Post: #1366
(Yesterday 23:12)redi Wrote:  so I assume safe to flash overtop of our existing mx Linux (using the appropriate download)?

would existing settings be saved? or would it be best to backup settings and start fresh and then restore them?

looking forward to this because I like the idea of OTA updates. just makes life a little easier.

I would say that its better to backup settings, revert to android, install ember and restore settings, at least until we know different.
find quote
AuXBoX Offline
Fan
Posts: 537
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 10
Post: #1367
(Yesterday 23:12)redi Wrote:  so I assume safe to flash overtop of our existing mx Linux (using the appropriate download)?

would existing settings be saved? or would it be best to backup settings and start fresh and then restore them?

looking forward to this because I like the idea of OTA updates. just makes life a little easier.

Just to be safe backup then revert then flash EmbER

Press THANK USER if I Help
(This post was last modified: Yesterday 23:37 by AuXBoX.)
find quote
AuXBoX Offline
Fan
Posts: 537
Joined: Mar 2009
Reputation: 10
Post: #1368
(Yesterday 07:13)Bamboo Wrote:  Hello

I'm new on this forum perhaps you can help me with my problem. I have a Geniatech atv3000b that I installed this linux firmware ***.mygica.es/downloads/Mygica-LINUX-xbmc-M3-20130306.zip and I'm stuck with this firmware for a long time. I tried to revert back to android, or update to another linux version that is explained in this threat but with no luck.
I can't make the box to upgrade from the sd card ( I tried few models different capacities 2, 4, 8 GB ) but with no luck, after I umplugged the box, insert the sd card with the new firmware, press the recovery button, insert the power cablle and wait for 10 - 15s but notthing happened. The box boots normally.
I don't know if the box is genuine or not, I bought it from an online shop from China.
If you can help me to change the firmware, thanks in advance for your help.

Regards.

Try download this
https://mega.co.nz/#!q84kXT7a!OKxSkCcfqN...WDsfXXNsTM
and use the HowToRevertToBox4.1.zip on first page

you need to revert to M3 android. I think youve been trying with the M6 link

Press THANK USER if I Help
(This post was last modified: Yesterday 23:41 by AuXBoX.)
find quote
redi Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 150
Joined: Sep 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #1369
(Yesterday 23:33)AuXBoX Wrote:  
(Yesterday 23:12)redi Wrote:  so I assume safe to flash overtop of our existing mx Linux (using the appropriate download)?

would existing settings be saved? or would it be best to backup settings and start fresh and then restore them?

looking forward to this because I like the idea of OTA updates. just makes life a little easier.

Just to be safe backup then revert then flash EmbER

thanks dude. might give it a try tonight.
find quote
redi Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 150
Joined: Sep 2004
Reputation: 0
Post: #1370
(Yesterday 23:33)AuXBoX Wrote:  
(Yesterday 23:12)redi Wrote:  so I assume safe to flash overtop of our existing mx Linux (using the appropriate download)?

would existing settings be saved? or would it be best to backup settings and start fresh and then restore them?

looking forward to this because I like the idea of OTA updates. just makes life a little easier.

Just to be safe backup then revert then flash EmbER

Would I be using the Android 4.1 revert at the bottom of the first post?
find quote
Post Reply