"Always Recording"

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
anthony.selby Offline
Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Is there a way to configure mythtv to always record everything.

I have a HDHomeRun Dual tuner and there are only a couple of over the air channels that we watch (only a couple of channels period).

I want to be able to switch channels at say 7:42 and be able to rewind back to 7:30 when the show started.

I was thinking there should be a way to store the last 120 mins or so from all the channels but I can't quite figure where to do something like that.

Thanks everything
find quote
deadite66 Offline
Donor
Posts: 231
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Location: UK
Post: #2
i've wondered about something like that but never tried it.

You may be able to do it with a custom schedule (power search in mythweb).
channel.callsign = "BBC ONE HD" will begin recording everything on that channel
you'd then probably have to disable duplicate checking.

giving it it's own partition and assigning a recording group would be important otherwise if will fill up your drive before auto expiring.

Asus E2KM1I-DELUXE (E2-2000 with HD7340) 60GB SSD + 2TB WD Caviar Green : xubuntu Trusty x64 : 3.14.2, (mythtv 0.27+fixes + 2x PCTV 290e DVB-T2)
Acer aspire revo R3600 Ubuntu Oneiric.
ASRock ION 3D, atom D525/ion2, 2GB ram, 1TB HDD running Ubuntu Precise. - in storage

find quote
anthony.selby Offline
Member
Posts: 82
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Thanks ... I will look in to that and let you know what I find
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 9,650
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 175
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #4
Take a look at the mythtv-users mailing list archives. A guy called Udo was doing this and had a custom recording rule to do it.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote