Android Hardware Acceleration/Decoder Development Inquiru
Question 
Hello, I'd like to start this thread by stating that I'm no coder, but I do have a have a basic overview understanding of how sofware is developed to work with specific hardware.

So, with that now cleared up, I'll get to my question...

So, I've noticed that XBMC for Android doesn't really have hardware acceleration and/or decoding for most, if not all ARM based devices. I get horrible playback lag on both of my devices watching anything above 480p. However, I've been using MX Player Pro, which supports hardware decoding, (it also exists in the free version.) And in my experience, it works amazingly well on both my HTC One X+ (Tegra 3 and underclocked to 1.5GHz with only two of the four cores active at any given time.), and my Nexus 7 2013 edition. As I play any 720p/1080p video with no sign of stutter or lag on the Nexus 7, and very little lag on the HTC One X+ (Only format I get stutter with is 1GB+ .wmv files, but it only appears when fast-forwarding/rewinding 10+ minutes at a time. And again, only two cores active.)

But, short of it is, the MX Player dev has forged a fantastic hardware decoding engine for ARM devices. And I'm curious to know if it's possible to convert his/her decoding engine to function with XBMC for Android, (with permission, of course.) If it is, then from my perspective, it seems like that would be the far quicker and easier route for the XBMC devs to travel.

I'd very much appreciate some more info from someone who is more experienced than I. Also, I apologize for the overuse and/or underuse of certain punctuation. I'm a high school student that has yet to master the art of grammatically correct punctuation.

Thanks so much in advance!
MX Player is private source code. They won't share it. Case closed, move along, there's nothing to see here.