Aquarium or wood burning screensaver?

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 4 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
SouthMark Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 109
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi All

Has anyone developed this or even thought of it as I think it would be really good?

Cheers

Mark
find quote
drivesoslow Offline
Fan
Posts: 478
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 5
Post: #2
I actually was looking for this in the past
find quote
DoJo_Mast3r Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
same
find quote
lrusak Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 724
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 4
Location: The Great White North
Post: #4
Not a screensaver, but you can download a fireplace video from youtube, put it in a playlist, then set it to repeat.

It would be nice to be able to activate a video as a screensaver.

http://youtu.be/IExpnvKDnnU

"PPC is too slow, your CPU has no balls to handle HD content." ~ Davilla
"Maybe it's a toaster. Who knows, but it has nothing to do with us." ~ Ned Scott

OpenELEC Community Moderator
find quote
DoJo_Mast3r Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Would it be hard to code? I wouldnt think so just ask xbmc to pull up video archive instead of pictures... or is it much more complex?
find quote
rob_webset Online
Posting Freak
Posts: 812
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 21
Post: #6
Hi All,

I have had a bit of a play and now have a screensaver that will play a video for you. It's currently classed as "beta", but is available to try by downloading the zip file from:

https://robwebset.googlecode.com/svn/rel...-0.0.1.zip

One bit still to finish is actually the icon (There is currently no text on it - should have the name: VideoScreensaver) will complete that soon.

So you have the option to either have it play your own video file, or a default Aquarium/Fireplace one - note that it will need to download the default ones when you select them, but it will be cached locally for future playing.

If people like this I will start enhancing it and putting in more stuff. I will also try and push it to the official repo.

Please give it a go and let me know how you get on.

Thanks

Rob

Addons: VideoExtras, TvTunes, Sonos & ***NEW *** VideoScreensaver ***NEW ***
find quote
TRaSH Offline
Fan
Posts: 712
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 1
Location: Holland, The Netherlands
Post: #7
nice i'm willing to give this a try,
just need to find a Aquarium or Wood Burning Video i can use

Windows 7, 64-bit | XBMC Gotham | Aeon Nox | MONEUAL 320B | Intel® Core™ i5 CPU 661 | Zotac GeForce GT 730 1GB GDDR5
Onkyo TX-SR875 | Teufel System 5 THX Cinema 5.1
HP Microserver N40L WHS 2011 10TB
[Image: all-banner@2x.jpg]
find quote
rob_webset Online
Posting Freak
Posts: 812
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 21
Post: #8
(2014-12-08 20:39)TRaSH Wrote:  nice i'm willing to give this a try,
just need to find a Aquarium or Wood Burning Video i can use

There is a setting built in that will do it for you! Big Grin

Rob

Addons: VideoExtras, TvTunes, Sonos & ***NEW *** VideoScreensaver ***NEW ***
find quote
DoJo_Mast3r Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
(2014-12-08 20:45)rob_webset Wrote:  
(2014-12-08 20:39)TRaSH Wrote:  

Thank you so much! Been wanting this for awhile, hey if you want an icon just let me know.. Give me an idea on what you want and ill give it a show >_O
find quote
rob_webset Online
Posting Freak
Posts: 812
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 21
Post: #10
Hi All,

Another update, this includes the following additions:

Code:
v0.0.2
- Add option for time to be shown in the corner
- Make video loop if screensaver still active
- Add option to start video at a random place
- Add text to addon icon

https://robwebset.googlecode.com/svn-his...-0.0.2.zip

Please let me know how you get on

Thanks

Rob

Addons: VideoExtras, TvTunes, Sonos & ***NEW *** VideoScreensaver ***NEW ***
find quote
DoJo_Mast3r Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
(2014-12-09 10:04)rob_webset Wrote:  Hi All,

Another update, this includes the following additions:

Code:
v0.0.2
- Add option for time to be shown in the corner
- Make video loop if screensaver still active
- Add option to start video at a random place
- Add text to addon icon

https://robwebset.googlecode.com/svn-his...-0.0.2.zip

Please let me know how you get on

Thanks

Rob

Hey, just a question if I pause a video will the screen saver activate and replace the currently playing video with lets say a fireplace?
find quote
rob_webset Online
Posting Freak
Posts: 812
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 21
Post: #12
(2014-12-11 06:58)DoJo_Mast3r Wrote:  Hey, just a question if I pause a video will the screen saver activate and replace the currently playing video with lets say a fireplace?

No, if a video is paused, my testing has shown that is screen will just dim.

Rob

Addons: VideoExtras, TvTunes, Sonos & ***NEW *** VideoScreensaver ***NEW ***
find quote
DoJo_Mast3r Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
Thanks!, Using it on 2 raspberry pies currently... Just asking the community im a little worried running a video non stop on such a low powered computered. Will it shorten the life of the pi?
find quote