Aquarium or wood burning screensaver?

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 4 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
SouthMark Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #1
Hi All

Has anyone developed this or even thought of it as I think it would be really good?

Cheers

Mark
find quote
drivesoslow Offline
Fan
Posts: 533
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 6
Post: #2
I actually was looking for this in the past
find quote
DoJo_Mast3r Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
same
find quote
lrusak Online
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 899
Joined: Sep 2011
Reputation: 13
Location: The Great White North
Post: #4
Not a screensaver, but you can download a fireplace video from youtube, put it in a playlist, then set it to repeat.

It would be nice to be able to activate a video as a screensaver.

http://youtu.be/IExpnvKDnnU

"PPC is too slow, your CPU has no balls to handle HD content." ~ Davilla
"Maybe it's a toaster. Who knows, but it has nothing to do with us." ~ Ned Scott
find quote
DoJo_Mast3r Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Would it be hard to code? I wouldnt think so just ask xbmc to pull up video archive instead of pictures... or is it much more complex?
find quote
robwebset Offline
Banned
Posts: 982
Joined: Sep 2013
Post: #6
Hi All,

I have had a bit of a play and now have a screensaver that will play a video for you. It's currently classed as "beta", but is available to try by downloading the zip file from:

https://robwebset.googlecode.com/svn/rel...-0.0.1.zip

One bit still to finish is actually the icon (There is currently no text on it - should have the name: VideoScreensaver) will complete that soon.

So you have the option to either have it play your own video file, or a default Aquarium/Fireplace one - note that it will need to download the default ones when you select them, but it will be cached locally for future playing.

If people like this I will start enhancing it and putting in more stuff. I will also try and push it to the official repo.

Please give it a go and let me know how you get on.

Thanks

Rob
find quote
TRaSH Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,165
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 11
Location: Holland, The Netherlands
Post: #7
nice i'm willing to give this a try,
just need to find a Aquarium or Wood Burning Video i can use

LibreElec Kodi | Aeon MQ7 | Onkyo TX-SR875 | Teufel System 5 THX Cinema 5.1 
SuperMicro Server WSE2012R2 | E3-1241 v3 | RAM 32 GB | Drivepool 18TB
find quote
robwebset Offline
Banned
Posts: 982
Joined: Sep 2013
Post: #8
(2014-12-08 20:39)TRaSH Wrote:  nice i'm willing to give this a try,
just need to find a Aquarium or Wood Burning Video i can use

There is a setting built in that will do it for you! Big Grin

Rob
find quote
DoJo_Mast3r Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
(2014-12-08 20:45)rob_webset Wrote:  
(2014-12-08 20:39)TRaSH Wrote:  

Thank you so much! Been wanting this for awhile, hey if you want an icon just let me know.. Give me an idea on what you want and ill give it a show >_O
find quote
robwebset Offline
Banned
Posts: 982
Joined: Sep 2013
Post: #10
Hi All,

Another update, this includes the following additions:

Code:
v0.0.2
- Add option for time to be shown in the corner
- Make video loop if screensaver still active
- Add option to start video at a random place
- Add text to addon icon

https://robwebset.googlecode.com/svn-his...-0.0.2.zip

Please let me know how you get on

Thanks

Rob
find quote
DoJo_Mast3r Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
(2014-12-09 10:04)rob_webset Wrote:  Hi All,

Another update, this includes the following additions:

Code:
v0.0.2
- Add option for time to be shown in the corner
- Make video loop if screensaver still active
- Add option to start video at a random place
- Add text to addon icon

https://robwebset.googlecode.com/svn-his...-0.0.2.zip

Please let me know how you get on

Thanks

Rob

Hey, just a question if I pause a video will the screen saver activate and replace the currently playing video with lets say a fireplace?
find quote
robwebset Offline
Banned
Posts: 982
Joined: Sep 2013
Post: #12
(2014-12-11 06:58)DoJo_Mast3r Wrote:  Hey, just a question if I pause a video will the screen saver activate and replace the currently playing video with lets say a fireplace?

No, if a video is paused, my testing has shown that is screen will just dim.

Rob
find quote
DoJo_Mast3r Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
Thanks!, Using it on 2 raspberry pies currently... Just asking the community im a little worried running a video non stop on such a low powered computered. Will it shorten the life of the pi?
find quote
cscott1 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 43
Joined: Aug 2016
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
Does anyone know if this will still work in Jarvis?

Running Jarvis Aeon Nox Silvo skin on Xiaomi Mi to Vizio 50in HD TV in living room. Same setup on MXQ Pro to Samsung 42in HD TV in bedroom, HTC One M8 android cell phone which I use to cast to my Roku 3 in the home gym. Kodi and Plex Server Gateway HTPC Windows 10
find quote
DaLanik Offline
Fan
Posts: 452
Joined: Apr 2016
Reputation: 16
Location: Prague, CZ
Post: #15
There is video screen saver that works in Jarvis, but videos are not available... they were downloadable from the addon, but not anymore.. Sad If anyone would have those....
find quote