Parental Controls
I have been using Windows Media Center for many years now. I am switching to XBMC because it is cross-platform and high degree of customization. I used XBMC many moons ago with my XBox. I am a little dissapointed on the lack of parental controls there are for XBMC. I have been using Media Browser in WMC. When it scrapes for movie content, it grabs the rating. Then you set a password to access higher ratings of movies or shows. When I opened Media Browser, it would show movies and TV shows with a rating of G/Y to PG/Y8. If I pressed the unlock button and put in my code, it would show anything else for 3 hours (my setup). I could lock it at any time before the 3 hour auto lock. It would also lock anything that had no rating.
I usually try to sit and watch the movies/shows with my kids. All of us parents know that is not always possible. I don't want to leave the room and come back to the TV and they are watching Saw 45 or Paranormal Activity.

Please add this feature it is much needed.
you can use profiles for this if you have your kids stuff in separate folders. So kids have their very own profile only having kids stuff in their library while you're using a PW protected profile with everything in it. That's how it's handled atm by those that require parental controls AFAIK.
It's not like this feature might not be wanted in general, it's just like no dev had the need for it and thus haven't worked on a better implementation (many things would have to be touched/changed). But if there are coders out there, feel free to open up a thread to discuss with team devs on how it should be implemented and then start your coding engines.
http://killdash9.github.io/xbmc-parental-controls/
(2014-01-10, 07:10)Shaolin Wrote: http://killdash9.github.io/xbmc-parental-controls/

That's only for plug ins.