How to play video file
I am simply trying to play a video file using:

Code:
{"jsonrpc":"2.0", "method":"Player.Open","params":{ "playerid": 1, "item":{"file":"C:\video\1.avi"}}}

I get a response:

Code:
{"error":{"code":-32700,"message":"Parse error."},"id":null,"jsonrpc":"2.0"}

I cant figure out what I am doing wrong. The path for the file is correct.
Try double slashes in the path:
Code:
"C:\\video\\1.avi"

jonib
XBMC2, EventGhost plugin. Image
(2014-01-07, 18:20)jonib Wrote: Try double slashes in the path:
Code:
"C:\\video\\1.avi"

jonib

still getting the same error response
You are missing the "id" of the API transaction.

For example:
Code:
{"jsonrpc":"2.0","method":"Player.Open","params":{"item":{"playlistid":1,"position":0}},"id":1}
I am an expert at acting like an expert ---- WC Fields.

XBMC Web Control Interface - https://github.com/mthiels/webinterface.xrc
(2014-01-07, 20:26)Kabooga Wrote: You are missing the "id" of the API transaction.

For example:
Code:
{"jsonrpc":"2.0","method":"Player.Open","params":{"item":{"playlistid":1,"position":0}},"id":1}

This is what I have now and its still getting the same error:

Code:
{"jsonrpc":"2.0","method":"Player.Open","params":{"item":{"file": "C:\\video\\1.avi"}},"id":1}

I dont have a playlist and not sure what would happen but I tried your json:

Code:

and I got a response

Code:
{"id":1,"jsonrpc":"2.0","result":"OK"}

But I cant seem to get it working with a path that I specify for whatever video I want to play...
I tried this API command and it did start a video (note: This was on a Windows machine).

Code:
"{\"jsonrpc\":\"2.0\",\"method\":\"Player.Open\",\"params\":{\"item\":{\"file\": \"C:/Users/XXXXX/Videos/Movies/Up.m4v\"}},\"id\":1}"

You may want to search through the JSON-RPC forum to see the proper way to encode the file path. I did see one or two mentions of it by doing a quick search for "Player.Open"
I am an expert at acting like an expert ---- WC Fields.