Release - TV Show Next Aired (Script) Addon, now w/TheTVDB data

  Thread Rating:
  • 6 Votes - 4 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
aptalca Offline
The Dude
Posts: 924
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 25
Post: #271
Thanks, Wayne.

Uninstalled, then installed the beta from zip. After restart, the log entry for the background process showed up indicating 6.0.7+

Hopefully in 8 hours it will update again :-)
find quote
WayneD Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 3
Post: #272
I'm hoping to push the current code out as 6.0.8 sometime next week. If folks could give the git/zip version a try and let me know of any remaining issues that need to be fixed, I'd appreciate it.

..wayne..
find quote
LEDFan Offline
Fan
Posts: 367
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 1
Location: Québec, Canada
Post: #273
(2014-04-19 01:34)WayneD Wrote:  I'm hoping to push the current code out as 6.0.8 sometime next week. If folks could give the git/zip version a try and let me know of any remaining issues that need to be fixed, I'd appreciate it.

..wayne..

Wayne, 6.0.7+ seems to work very well.
find quote
crawfish Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #274
Another user recently started a thread about XBMC not exiting completely after it's been closed, which subsequently interferes with WMC's ability to play video, other programs playing audio, etc. I too see this fairly often, and the last thing that's mentioned in my debug logs, right after the good and bad logs diverge, is "script.tv.show.next.aired" failing to stop. I've copied my reply in that thread below and can provide more info if it would help.

http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid...pid1683293

I get the same thing from time to time. To the OP, I have added a binding to my AutoHotkey file and bound it to a button on my remote control; it runs the following command, where pskill is one of the Sysinternals utilities:

Run pskill xbmc.exe

This lets me easily kill the zombie XBMC when WMC complains the "files needed to play video aren't installed", IIRC the WMC error message.

Below are the ends of the logfiles I just created, just where they begin to diverge. I am using Aeon Nox Gotham 4.1.9.8, but I've been seeing this problem for several skin and Gotham alpha and beta releases. Sorry, no reliable repro case so far, but just now, it happened when I loaded XBMC, went to my TV show library, selected an episode, watched for about 5 sec, and quit XBMC.

Hung (taskbar icon gone, but process still alive):

22:56:49 T:2100 NOTICE: StorageServer-2.5.4 Closed down
22:56:50 T:4432 NOTICE: script.tv.show.next.aired: ### xbmc is closing -- stopping background processing
22:56:55 T:8000 ERROR: CPythonInvoker(13, xxx\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\script.videolanguage\default.py): script didn't stop in 5 seconds - let's kill it
22:57:00 T:8000 ERROR: CPythonInvoker(14, xxx\AppData\Roaming\XBMC\addons\script.tv.show.next.aired\default.py): script didn't stop in 5 seconds - let's kill it
(ends here)

Normal (XBMC exited completely):

22:55:46 T:4804 NOTICE: StorageServer-2.5.4 Closed down
22:55:48 T:4384 NOTICE: script.tv.show.next.aired: ### xbmc is closing -- stopping background processing
22:55:48 T:3628 NOTICE: stopped
22:55:48 T:3628 NOTICE: destroy
22:55:48 T:3628 NOTICE: closing down remote control service
22:55:48 T:3628 NOTICE: unload sections
22:55:48 T:3628 NOTICE: special://profile/ is mapped to: special://masterprofile/
22:55:48 T:3628 NOTICE: destroy
22:55:48 T:3628 WARNING: Attempted to remove window 10013 from the window manager when it didn't exist
22:55:48 T:3628 WARNING: Attempted to remove window 10014 from the window manager when it didn't exist
22:55:48 T:3628 WARNING: Attempted to remove window 10015 from the window manager when it didn't exist
22:55:48 T:3628 WARNING: Attempted to remove window 10016 from the window manager when it didn't exist
22:55:48 T:3628 WARNING: Attempted to remove window 10017 from the window manager when it didn't exist
22:55:48 T:3628 WARNING: Attempted to remove window 10018 from the window manager when it didn't exist
22:55:48 T:3628 WARNING: Attempted to remove window 10019 from the window manager when it didn't exist
22:55:48 T:3628 WARNING: Attempted to remove window 10021 from the window manager when it didn't exist
22:55:48 T:3628 WARNING: Attempted to remove window 10107 from the window manager when it didn't exist
22:55:48 T:3628 WARNING: Attempted to remove window 10115 from the window manager when it didn't exist
22:55:48 T:3628 WARNING: Attempted to remove window 10104 from the window manager when it didn't exist
22:55:48 T:3628 NOTICE: closing down remote control service
22:55:48 T:3628 NOTICE: unload sections
22:55:48 T:3628 NOTICE: application stopped...
(ends here)
find quote
WayneD Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 3
Post: #275
(2014-04-20 22:54)crawfish Wrote:  I too see this fairly often, and the last thing that's mentioned in my debug logs, right after the good and bad logs diverge, is "script.tv.show.next.aired" failing to stop.
Make sure that you're testing the latest zip file (6.0.7+), since it has a fix in it for the backend-info-provider not exiting (not to be confused with the background updating proc).

More info: the backend-info-provider has always exited when told that the window it monitors is invisible (it checks xbmc.getCondVisibility("Window.IsVisible(10025)") in all versions that I know of). Sadly, if the user exits with this info-script going, xbmc doesn't bother to tell it that the window is no longer visible. My latest version thus also checks xbmc.abortRequested (like it always has in the background updater), which ensures that the shutdown request gets noticed even when the visible-window check isn't working right.

If you see any other failure to exit, let me know.

..wayne..
find quote
crawfish Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 1
Post: #276
Thanks Wayne!
find quote
DjCisco Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 233
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 5
Post: #277
I Installed the addon today but I am getting strange results after I perform a scan.

It shows Next Episodes that do not exist. For example it states 24 -S09E01 will air (there is no s09) or Heroes - S05E01 (there is no s05)

Is this normal?
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-29 00:14 by DjCisco.)
find quote
WayneD Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 3
Post: #278
(2014-04-29 00:13)DjCisco Wrote:  It shows Next Episodes that do not exist. For example it states 24 -S09E01 will air (there is no s09) or Heroes - S05E01 (there is no s05)
You can answer questions such as that by visiting thetvdb.com. I know you're behind the times on 24:

http://thetvdb.com/?tab=season&seriesid=...3245&lid=7

But I don't know what's up with the heroes data (I haven't heard if it's making a comeback in 2015 or someone inserted a bum record):

http://thetvdb.com/?tab=season&seriesid=...7821&lid=7

EDIT: It's apparently making a return as a mini-series in 2015.

..wayne..
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-29 00:34 by WayneD.)
find quote
DjCisco Offline
Skilled Skinner
Posts: 233
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 5
Post: #279
(2014-04-29 00:23)WayneD Wrote:  
(2014-04-29 00:13)DjCisco Wrote:  It shows Next Episodes that do not exist. For example it states 24 -S09E01 will air (there is no s09) or Heroes - S05E01 (there is no s05)
You can answer questions such as that by visiting thetvdb.com. I know you're behind the times on 24:

http://thetvdb.com/?tab=season&seriesid=...3245&lid=7

But I don't know what's up with the heroes data (I haven't heard if it's making a comeback in 2015 or someone inserted a bum record):

http://thetvdb.com/?tab=season&seriesid=...7821&lid=7

EDIT: It's apparently making a return as a mini-series in 2015.

..wayne..

Oh yes, I am definetly not up to date. I only checked heroes before on tv Rage. Thanks for the fast reply
find quote
WayneD Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 143
Joined: Dec 2013
Reputation: 3
Post: #280
Version 6.0.8 was just approved, so everyone will be getting the newest version in their updates today.

One new thing in the release is for anyone who has a desire to see their next-aired data outside of xbmc: a simple python webserver script was added (cal-server). If you run it manually, it will serve a simple HTML table of upcoming shows on port 9999 (which I should eventually make settable via command-line option). By default that script sits unused, so it's only there for those power users that want to see the data in a web browser. See the script's opening comments for the /path/components that it accepts (which can customize the view).

..wayne..
find quote
fuzzer Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #281
i think there is a problem with the update. See here: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=193603
find quote
StarScream159 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Location: Canada
Post: #282
(2014-05-01 03:27)fuzzer Wrote:  i think there is a problem with the update. See here: http://forum.xbmc.org/showthread.php?tid=193603

Thanks for this post, it helped me locate the problem.
find quote
Greggie Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #283
I think I am having this problem, I am running Frodo - Ubuntu. When I started XBMC it did a TV next aired update, then when I restarted, it just crashes. How can I disable this addon, or make it work? Please help, I have been using XBMC for a while, but not very technical with it.
find quote
Vaikin Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 861
Joined: Mar 2012
Reputation: 25
Location: Toronto, Canada
Post: #284
If xbmc is crashing before you can get to addons to disable it, delete the script manually from addons folder.
find quote
Greggie Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: May 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #285
Thanks, I figured it would be something like that, but I looked through many folders and couldn't find anything that looked like the one.
The closest I found was: /usr/share/xbmc/addons

But there was nothing like TV.show.next.aired, etc. The closest I saw was metadata.tvdb.com, but the files in there were old.

In fact I didn't see any recent folders or files, all from 1/2013 which i assume is when I installed it.

I am using the Aeon NOX skin if that matters.
find quote
Post Reply