BUG - Internet Connection Issue

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
wsnipex Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 4,067
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 98
Post: #16
you are absolutely right, http://74.125.19.103 doesn't load, so
Code:
bool CCurlFile::IsInternet(bool checkDNS /* = true */)
{
  CStdString strURL = "http://www.google.com";
  if (!checkDNS)
    strURL = "http://74.125.19.103"; // www.google.com ip

  bool found = Exists(strURL);
  Close();

  return found;
}

will always fail, if DNS isn't used
find quote
AaronB65 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #17
more over if "checkDNS" is set to false by the calling sub and function it will always use the IP address that doesn't exist.

Any ideas on who we need to contact to get something changed in the source code.
find quote
wsnipex Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 4,067
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 98
Post: #18
I brought it up internally. give us a few days.
find quote
AaronB65 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #19
FYI. Gotham Beta 4 is still doing the same thing
find quote
DBMandrake Offline
Fan
Posts: 453
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 14
Location: UK
Post: #20
Are you sure ? The hard coded IP address was removed from the code nearly a month ago:

https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/pull/4455/

I've checked both the master branch and the Gotham branch and neither has the IP address in CurlFile.cpp anymore, so I don't see how this is possible. Please double check that you're actually running Beta 4.

XBMC 13.2 - Mid 2007 Mac Mini, 4GB, 2TB HD, OS X 10.6.8.
XBMC 13.2 - Raspberry Pi 512MB Model B, 16GB SD, Raspbmc.
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-20 10:00 by DBMandrake.)
find quote
AaronB65 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #21
Hi again,

Definitely Beta 4. Here is an extract form the log.

14:40:30 T:9600 NOTICE: Starting XBMC (13.0-BETA4 Git:20140418-482ccd3). Platform: x86 Win32 32-bit
14:40:30 T:9600 NOTICE: Using Release XBMC x32 build, compiled Apr 19 2014 by MSVC 160040219 for x86 Win32 32-bit version 0x06000000
...
14:40:35 T:9600 DEBUG: ------ Window Init (SettingsSystemInfo.xml) ------
14:40:35 T:9600 INFO: Loading skin file: SettingsSystemInfo.xml, load type: KEEP_IN_MEMORY
14:40:35 T:5524 INFO: XCURL::DllLibCurlGlobal::easy_aquire - Created session to http://www.google.com
14:40:35 T:9292 ERROR: CCurlFile::FillBuffer - Failed: Timeout was reached(28)
14:40:35 T:9292 ERROR: CCurlFile::CReadState::Connect, didn't get any data from stream.
14:40:35 T:9292 DEBUG: CurlFile::Open(0C74F678) http://feeds.xbmc.org/xbmc
14:40:37 T:9292 ERROR: CCurlFile::FillBuffer - Failed: Timeout was reached(28)
14:40:37 T:9292 ERROR: CCurlFile::CReadState::Connect, didn't get any data from stream.
14:40:37 T:9292 DEBUG: Thread RSSReader 9292 terminating
14:40:40 T:5524 ERROR: CCurlFile::Exists - Failed: Timeout was reached(28) for http://www.google.com/
14:40:41 T:9600 INFO: Python, unloading python shared library because no scripts are running anymore
14:40:42 T:9600 DEBUG: ------ Window Deinit (Pointer.xml) ------
14:40:42 T:9600 DEBUG: ------ Window Init (Pointer.xml) ------
14:40:44 T:9600 DEBUG: CApplication::ProcessMouse: trying mouse action leftclick
14:40:44 T:9600 DEBUG: Previous line repeats 1 times.
14:40:44 T:9600 DEBUG: Activating window ID: 10000
14:40:45 T:9600 DEBUG: ------ Window Deinit (SettingsSystemInfo.xml) ------
...
find quote
DBMandrake Offline
Fan
Posts: 453
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 14
Location: UK
Post: #22
I don't see any attempt to connect to 74.125.19.103 in your log snippet. Does it say internet connected on the system information page ?

XBMC 13.2 - Mid 2007 Mac Mini, 4GB, 2TB HD, OS X 10.6.8.
XBMC 13.2 - Raspberry Pi 512MB Model B, 16GB SD, Raspbmc.
find quote
AaronB65 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #23
Hi,

No connection to the Internet. It is doing the "MAC: Busy" and "Internet: Busy" then "Internet: Not Connected. Check Network Settings". Not hitting the 74.125.19.103 server anymore but still no resolve on the main issue of no Internet Connection.

Thanks
find quote
wsnipex Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 4,067
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 98
Post: #24
The main issue is that something with your network must be wrong. Else it wouldn't throw errors while trying to connect to google.com
find quote
DBMandrake Offline
Fan
Posts: 453
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 14
Location: UK
Post: #25
I've just checked Beta 4 here at work and for me it says "Internet: Connected" straight away when going to the Network tab and I do not see any curl time out errors in a debug log.

So while there was definitely a problem previously with XBMC trying to connect to a hard coded unreachable IP address, that has been fixed, so I would tend to agree with wsnipex that there is still something unusual with your network, dns, or internet provider.

You're not using google dns or some other alternative dns provider by any chance ? You're not using a proxy server on your network which XBMC hasn't been configured to use ? Does internet connectivity in XBMC otherwise seem to be working ok ? (I assume so)

Bit of a strange one that.

What happens if you configure your PC to directly use your ISP's DNS server (or google dns, or open dns) rather than using your router as the DNS server ? I see in a log you posted earlier there was a time out when querying your routers built in dns forwarder. The dns forwarder built into some routers is not the best thing around...

XBMC 13.2 - Mid 2007 Mac Mini, 4GB, 2TB HD, OS X 10.6.8.
XBMC 13.2 - Raspberry Pi 512MB Model B, 16GB SD, Raspbmc.
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-22 16:27 by DBMandrake.)
find quote
AaronB65 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #26
Hi again,

OK. My router is configured to use OpenDNS and I have just tried to use Googles DNS (8.8.8.8) specified on my PC. No change. Still cannot resolve Google.com, well according to XBMC. No proxy on the network and XBMC is not trying to use one. No issue with accessing the web from my computer

Must be an issue with my home network because if I use cellular data it is all OK.

(Sigh) where to begin.
find quote
DBMandrake Offline
Fan
Posts: 453
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 14
Location: UK
Post: #27
Unless I've missed something, is this not just a cosmetic issue ?

System information, through some quirk of your ISP/network etc says not connected, but XBMC is still otherwise able to access content on the internet, right ? If so, does it really matter, and is it worth spending a lot of your time pulling your hair out to solve ? If XBMC can't access any content on the Internet, that would be a different matter.

XBMC 13.2 - Mid 2007 Mac Mini, 4GB, 2TB HD, OS X 10.6.8.
XBMC 13.2 - Raspberry Pi 512MB Model B, 16GB SD, Raspbmc.
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-22 17:10 by DBMandrake.)
find quote
AaronB65 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #28
OK. The issue is to do with DNS. For some reason unless I am using the ISP DNS servers on the router it does not work. As soon as I changed the router to use the ISP, it started working. Previously they were set to OpenDNS. No issue with the Internet on either setting but to get XBMC to detect the Internet I need to not be using OpenDNS.

Thank you to everyone for your help
find quote
AaronB65 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Jan 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #29
Hi All,

I have just got to the bottom of all the issues with "MAC: Busy" and "Internet: Busy" then "Internet: Not Connected. Check Network Settings" and am just posting back for the benefit of other readers.

Firstly the IP address 74.125.19.103 was not the source of the issues although it was good to find as it could have haunted future releases.

I had two different routers which caused this issue on multiple computers with different versions of XBMC. One router, Cisco 857w, has a bug in the T14 firmware that caused the issue and a few others. After updating it to the T17 version, it worked perfectly. The second router, Netgear DG834N. This has an issue with using OpenDNS or Google DNS instead of the ISPs default. Making changes on the client computer didn't seam to resolve the issue. Once this was changed back to the ISPs default it was good as well.

There was no obvious issue with the Internet connection other than with XBMC.


I hope this helps future readers.
find quote
Post Reply