Intel NUC - Bay Trail (Celeron 4th Generation CPU) - DN2820FYKH

  Thread Rating:
  • 5 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Sniffer77 Offline
Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1906
Hi all, currently have 500gb harddrive in the dn2820 which I think maybe dodgy . Would a ssd make the box a lot faster?
Also if I attach a usb harddrive , if my operating system crashes , I presume all my files would be ok as only the ssd would crash if I had to re install?
Hope that makes sense.
Thanks
find quote
MediaBlob Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1907
Haven't posted in a while. Just wanted to add that the latest KodiBuntu runs fantastically on the DN2820FYKH NUC. Except it doesn't recognize Xbox360 or Xbox one remotes...
find quote
xbs08 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,754
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 7
Location: Portugal
Post: #1908
(2015-03-24 00:10)Sniffer77 Wrote:  Hi all, currently have 500gb harddrive in the dn2820 which I think maybe dodgy . Would a ssd make the box a lot faster?
Also if I attach a usb harddrive , if my operating system crashes , I presume all my files would be ok as only the ssd would crash if I had to re install?
Hope that makes sense.
Thanks

It probably will make the library scans faster and boot times shorter but boot times means nothing if you suspend the NUC.

Yeah, having the OS on the internal SSD and having media files stored in an external source is safer and better IMO.

  • Intel NUC Kit DN2820FYKH
  • Crucial DDR3L SO-DIMM 4GB
  • SanDisk ReadyCache 32GB SSD
  • Microsoft MCE model 1039 RC6 remote
find quote
Sniffer77 Offline
Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1909
(2015-03-24 11:24)xbs08 Wrote:  
(2015-03-24 00:10)Sniffer77 Wrote:  Hi all, currently have 500gb harddrive in the dn2820 which I think maybe dodgy . Would a ssd make the box a lot faster?
Also if I attach a usb harddrive , if my operating system crashes , I presume all my files would be ok as only the ssd would crash if I had to re install?
Hope that makes sense.
Thanks

It probably will make the library scans faster and boot times shorter but boot times means nothing if you suspend the NUC.

Yeah, having the OS on the internal SSD and having media files stored in an external source is safer and better IMO.

Thanks for the reply. Think I will pick up a ssd then. Good deal on amazon today for a crucial 250gb ssd for less than £60.

Out of interest what bios number are you using ? I'm insure if I need to update. Might seem a silly question does bios go onto harddrive or ram? I'm not too good with computers so just trying to understand stuff
Thanks
find quote
xbs08 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,754
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 7
Location: Portugal
Post: #1910
What OS do you plan on putting on the NUC?
250GB is way too much if your going for OpenELEC or KodiBuntu.

I'm using an older BIOS (can't say exactly which one) because I dont feel the need to update, everything just works as it is.

From wikipedia:
"The BIOS is a type of firmware used during the booting process..." and it goes onto the motherboard.

  • Intel NUC Kit DN2820FYKH
  • Crucial DDR3L SO-DIMM 4GB
  • SanDisk ReadyCache 32GB SSD
  • Microsoft MCE model 1039 RC6 remote
(This post was last modified: 2015-03-24 12:09 by xbs08.)
find quote
Sniffer77 Offline
Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Jun 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #1911
(2015-03-24 12:08)xbs08 Wrote:  What OS do you plan on putting on the NUC?
250GB is way too much if your going for OpenELEC or KodiBuntu.

I'm using an older BIOS (can't say exactly which one) because I dont feel the need to update, everything just works as it is.

From wikipedia:
"The BIOS is a type of firmware used during the booting process..." and it goes onto the motherboard.

Purely openelec. I was only thinking of the large ssd so I could store some movies directly that are my favourites , should my portable hdd be linked to one of my other kodi players it could still watch .
Thanks for clarifying re bios
find quote
nickr Online
Donor
Posts: 11,494
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 208
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #1912
Switching external drives around is a pain for library management.

Have you heard about networking?

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
Stereodude Offline
Fan
Posts: 344
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 3
Post: #1913
(2015-03-24 20:44)nickr Wrote:  Have you heard about networking?
That's where you talk to people you know about something right? Like when you're looking for a job you ask people you know if their company is hiring? Wink
find quote
xbs08 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,754
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 7
Location: Portugal
Post: #1914
(2015-03-24 20:44)nickr Wrote:  Switching external drives around is a pain for library management.

Have you heard about networking?

+1

  • Intel NUC Kit DN2820FYKH
  • Crucial DDR3L SO-DIMM 4GB
  • SanDisk ReadyCache 32GB SSD
  • Microsoft MCE model 1039 RC6 remote
find quote
Post Reply