Constantly RE-Setting content

  Thread Rating:
  • 1 Vote(s) - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
jacintech.fire Offline
Banned
Posts: 385
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Porto Novo, Benin
Post: #1
I have quick question: the lady of the house sent me an email the other day, explaining a problem she has encountered, whereby a previously configured video source (configured as either Movie, Tv Show or Music Video) would all of the sudden dispappear from the library.
And once you browse that location from the VIDEO ==> FILE [LOCATION] and launch the context menu, instead of seeing the [SCAN FOR NEW CONTENT] option, you see [SET CONTENT]
apparently this has happened several times.
By the way, we are using a beta version of XBMC 13.0...
find quote
jacintech.fire Offline
Banned
Posts: 385
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Porto Novo, Benin
Post: #2
Wow. Nobody?
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-20 06:14 by jacintech.fire.)
find quote
jmarshall Offline
Team-XBMC Developer
Posts: 26,216
Joined: Oct 2003
Reputation: 185
Post: #3
Unfortunately, nobody in the know can reproduce this fault.

What you'll want to do to troubleshoot is, when everything is working (i.e. you know you have content set on a path) take a copy of your database.

Then, when it breaks, grab another copy.

Take a look in each and see what content is set on the path table.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.


[Image: badge.gif]
find quote
Kib Offline
Team-Kodi Server Dude
Posts: 4,633
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 75
Location: NL
Post: #4
You also share your sqlite databases over the network and use them with multiple clients, right?
I told you previously this will cause database corruption.

Thinking of getting that elusive donor status? Team Kodi accepts donations in bitcoin as well as paypal.
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-20 12:35 by Kib.)
find quote
nickr Online
Super Moderator
Posts: 15,328
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 307
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #5
@kib So you did, and he scoffed.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thank user' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "Thank you" button.)
find quote
Kib Offline
Team-Kodi Server Dude
Posts: 4,633
Joined: Jan 2010
Reputation: 75
Location: NL
Post: #6
I have been waiting for this thread ever since. :-)

Thinking of getting that elusive donor status? Team Kodi accepts donations in bitcoin as well as paypal.
find quote
nooryani84 Offline
Donor
Posts: 911
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 13
Location: Norway
Post: #7
Don't forget 512TB NoRaid.. 1 TB partitions..

[Image: all-thin-banner@2x.jpg]
find quote
jacintech.fire Offline
Banned
Posts: 385
Joined: Oct 2011
Location: Porto Novo, Benin
Post: #8
Ha!
found the source: IN ALL CASES, this was a virtual-drive specific issue that HAD NOTHING TO DO with the database itself. It was rooted on one of my automation scripts* un-mounting a virtual drive and not re-mounting correctly. So there :-)

*=I have a whole suite of scripts that perform several server maintenance/fine-tuning functions
(This post was last modified: 2014-06-09 16:39 by jacintech.fire.)
find quote