Frodo & Gotham Linux Builds for Amlogic M3 Devices

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Vote(s) - 4 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Poida Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #316
Well, after trying M3_HELIX_020115.zip with the same results ( consistent restarts / reboots making it impossible to set up ), I think I'll just have to be content with the Gotham version that does work. Smile

Thanks for all of your hard work, but it just does not seem to like this Midnight 2.2 box at all. Boot up misses the time setting every time and after a few minutes reboot at any attempt to set up.

Not interested in Wifi as all of my devices have perfectly good Ethernet connections to them.

Glad to read that Nostrodamus has apparently had better results with his Slav.
find quote
mivlives Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation: 1
Post: #317
@Poida - which Gotham build is stable for you? Do you have a download link?
find quote
Poida Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #318
(2015-02-07 03:45)mivlives Wrote:  @Poida - which Gotham build is stable for you? Do you have a download link?

I have been using M3_LINUX-GBOX-update-20140525.zip from Post: #2 of this thread, with great success.

This build also misses the date / time update at boot, but editing the ntpd file in /etc/default seems to fix that (doesn't make any difference to the latest builds).
(This post was last modified: 2015-02-07 12:40 by Poida.)
find quote
mivlives Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation: 1
Post: #319
updated 02/05/2015 build by the-hydra
- more Video tweaks

Download: M3_HELIX_020515.zip
MD: F62661C8060324AF0D73D104BE91E4D7
SHA-1: 03441B3473B882DE0E8A4262359B46867389A6E7


If coming from Frodo or Gotham, please perform a wipe data\factory reset in recovery before flashing!

mivlives
(This post was last modified: 2015-02-08 02:33 by mivlives.)
find quote
Poida Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Jan 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #320
(2015-02-08 02:27)mivlives Wrote:  updated 02/05/2015 build by the-hydra
- more Video tweaks

Download: M3_HELIX_020515.zip

This build has got a little closer for me. When it does complete the boot, it does seem to pick up the time update from the internet. This is not very regular as, most of the time, it either freezes at the KODI splash screen or consistently restarts / reboots shortly after the splash screen

I had considered a h/w problem but, as soon as I restore the Gotham, or earlier builds, it works fine
find quote
redstorm Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 223
Joined: Sep 2009
Reputation: 2
Post: #321
Is their a way i can force kodi to wait for wlan0 to connect.

I use mysql and smb to share my media throughout the house, what is happening is kodi starts before the network has initialized and fails to connect to the mysql repository resulting in a visit to the shell to issue /etc/init.d/kodi restart
find quote
daclina Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Nov 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #322
(2014-12-31 23:11)jacko5 Wrote:  
(2014-12-26 23:53)nightowl6900 Wrote:  Here is the hydra 13.2 version that works with my g-box midnight m3. I got it from matricom and you have to put the two files on a blank sd card. Enjoy and happy holidays. https://www.dropbox.com/s/5khvj7v4kdee8l...M.rar?dl=0

Thanks for the above, but ethernet internet does not work on gbox midnight m3.

Does anybody have the above rar with the CWM recovery?
find quote
daclina Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Nov 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #323
Or even the 14 helix one with CWM
find quote
davidt Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #324
(2015-02-13 11:46)daclina Wrote:  
(2014-12-31 23:11)jacko5 Wrote:  
(2014-12-26 23:53)nightowl6900 Wrote:  Here is the hydra 13.2 version that works with my g-box midnight m3. I got it from matricom and you have to put the two files on a blank sd card. Enjoy and happy holidays. https://www.dropbox.com/s/5khvj7v4kdee8l...M.rar?dl=0

Thanks for the above, but ethernet internet does not work on gbox midnight m3.

Does anybody have the above rar with the CWM recovery?

Hi
I am looking for the same files

Thanks davidt
find quote
bubblegum57 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #325
Hi, I have been through this post, but can't find a recent Helix version for the Mygica 510b. Can anyone point me to one?

Thanks

I have already tried the M3_HELIX_020115.ZIP & M3_HELIX_020515.ZIP but get the sideload error.

For anyone interested I have found a hydra mk2 signed image,

http://www.xunitytalk.com/showthread.php...and-clones

I can now setup the wireless settings, so I can use it in my bedroom.

The NUC I just bought is my main device.
(This post was last modified: 2015-02-19 13:51 by bubblegum57.)
find quote
daclina Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Nov 2007
Reputation: 0
Post: #326
I'm looking for some help. I'm trying to get any web browser installed and accessible through this xbmc build. I can install the launcher addons but I'm unsure how to install the actual apps as I do not know how to get to terminal mode. An ideas?

EDIT: I managed to get to terminal mode via SSH user root/letmein but none of the commands are recognised while in SSH mode. There are no folders that contain the apt-get commands from what I can see. Is this an MX linux limitation or do I need to do something else first?
(This post was last modified: 2015-02-23 06:28 by daclina.)
find quote
jacko5 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: May 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #327
Does anyone know how to configure wireless wifi ?
I have loaded M3_HELIX_020115.ZIP and cannot figure out how to get to the wireless wifi settings, to switch it on and put password in.
Thanks.

Edit,
I found how to do it, network manager, but when i try to input network key via keyboard, all the keyboard tabs are blank,
Anyone know how to fix this ?
Thanks.

Edit,
All done, i had a corrupt skin installed.
(This post was last modified: 2015-02-25 22:11 by jacko5.)
find quote
shin505 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #328
Hey guys. I'm trying to bring some new life back to my old Gbox M3. Those of you who have been here long enough and used the old Gotham builds by dhead and the new Kodi builds by the-hydra, which is more stable in your opinion? I'm assuming the recent release of Kodi has brought about its own bugs, but I don't know how polished the 13.1 Gotham build from dhead is either.

I have a very basic setup. Don't have a NAS or a 7.1 theater system. Just the Gbox and my TV.



Props to dhead who has gone MIA and mivlives for signing the pivos builds!
(This post was last modified: 2015-02-26 00:38 by shin505.)
find quote
Goan0900 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mar 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #329
(2015-02-08 02:27)mivlives Wrote:  updated 02/05/2015 build by the-hydra
- more Video tweaks

Download: M3_HELIX_020515.zip
MD: F62661C8060324AF0D73D104BE91E4D7
SHA-1: 03441B3473B882DE0E8A4262359B46867389A6E7


If coming from Frodo or Gotham, please perform a wipe data\factory reset in recovery before flashing!

mivlives

Did follow your page for a long time. A few days my 2 midnight didnt work, but glad to see your still working
find quote
Post Reply