OpenELEC Testbuilds for RaspberryPi Part 3

  Thread Rating:
  • 8 Votes - 4.88 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Dimitriss Offline
Member
Posts: 86
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #46
Well the feature to change hz during playback seems to have a bug at 50hz. After some minutes of playback it switches every 5 seconds between 50hz and 60hz.
Thanks guys
find quote
Milhouse Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 4,241
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 95
Post: #47
New OpenELEC Gotham build: #0417b
(Supercedes previous build)

Code:
# uname -a
Linux rpi512 3.14.1 #1 PREEMPT Thu Apr 17 18:47:34 BST 2014 armv6l GNU/Linux

# vcgencmd version
Apr 15 2014 14:57:55
Copyright (c) 2012 Broadcom
version c1dc12512d5fe9340b6a2ca9badf9441fe6675a8 (clean) (release)

# lsb_release
OpenELEC (Milhouse) - Version: devel-20140417184615-r18197-gb9ebd0b

Based on tip of OpenELEC master (b9ebd0b, changelog) and tip of XBMC master (ca6989d, changelog) with the following modifications:
  • Includes newclock3 commits (except for a1349ee, a patch to avoid hammering the GUI, which has been replaced with a static spinner)
  • Includes kernel 3.14.y commits
  • Includes Python regex package for evaluation purposes. Initial benchmarking indicates generally positive (and in some cases, significant) performance gains. See this post for a description of how to test effectiveness of this package with addons
  • Excludes the OpenELEC fernetmenta patches due to conflict with newclock3
  • Excludes the OpenELEC gotham_rbp_backports patches in favour of sourcing these same patches directly from newclock3 branch
  • Default setting for "Show RSS Feed" changed to disabled
  • Disabled "Total Duration" in Confluence (see build #0221 for details)
  • ALSA is enabled and any suitable hardware should be available in XBMC Audio Settings
  • FIQ FSM is enabled by default (dwc_otg.fiq_enable=1 dwc_otg.fiq_fsm_enable=1 dwc_otg.fiq_fsm_mask=0x7). See initial post for more details.
Build Highlights:
popcornmix Wrote:newclock3 has some vc1 optimisations from Ben Avison. Should be quite noticeable.
There's a couple of commits to rpi-3.14.y for fiq_fsm (should improve usb audio quality).
  1. XBMC:
    • overlays: don't reduce ASS texture width unnecessarily (PR4518)
    • overlays: include padding in initial ASS texture width computation (PR4518)
  2. newclock3:
    • Move the H.264 search code search functions into separate source files. This permits re-use with parsers for codecs which use similar start codes.
    • Add platform-specific start code search routine to VC1DSPContext. Initialise VC1DSPContext for parser as well as for decoder.
    • vc-1: Optimise parser (with special attention to ARM)
  3. Kernel 3.14.y:
    • fiq_fsm: fix bounce buffer utilisation for Isochronous OUT
    • fiq_fsm: Implement timeout mechanism

Texture Cache Maintenance Utility: Preload your texture cache for optimal UI performance. Remotely manage media libraries. Purge unused artwork to free up space. Find missing media. Configurable QA check to highlight metadata issues. Aid in diagnosis of library and cache related problems.
find quote
daveeeee Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Apr 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #48
(2014-04-17 17:21)postdeath Wrote:  I have had horrific performance problems in the recent past using Gotham builds on my original 256 Pi - is this something that can/will be fixed, or are the older Pi's just unable to run Gotham smoothly? Frodo still works perfectly (usb+sd, w/oc: 1000).

I had the same issue since ~1 month with my 256Mb Pi. Playing with gpu_mem seems to solve it:

gpu_mem256 =100 works best for me.

Little overclocking also boosts the experience.
find quote
craigbeat Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #49
(2014-04-17 20:13)Dimitriss Wrote:  Well the feature to change hz during playback seems to have a bug at 50hz. After some minutes of playback it switches every 5 seconds between 50hz and 60hz.
Thanks guys

I've seen this too:
20:17:32 3912.397217 T:3058257920 NOTICE: Using GL_TEXTURE_2D
20:17:32 3912.397705 T:3058257920 NOTICE: GL: Using BYPASS render method
20:17:32 3912.397949 T:3058257920 NOTICE: GL: NPOT texture support detected
20:17:33 3913.083496 T:2738795600 NOTICE: not a 3D movie
20:17:33 3913.084229 T:2738795600 NOTICE: Display resolution ADJUST : 1920x1080 (1920x1080) @ 60.00 - Full Screen (16) (weight: 0.231)
20:17:33 3913.088135 T:3058257920 NOTICE: Using GL_TEXTURE_2D
20:17:33 3913.089111 T:3058257920 NOTICE: GL: Using BYPASS render method
20:17:33 3913.089355 T:3058257920 NOTICE: GL: NPOT texture support detected
20:17:35 3915.883789 T:2738795600 NOTICE: not a 3D movie
20:17:35 3915.884277 T:2738795600 NOTICE: Display resolution ADJUST : 1920x1080 (1920x1080) @ 50.00 - Full Screen (32) (weight: 0.001)

Seems OK in the most recent build tonight, though (so far).
find quote
craigbeat Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Dec 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #50
Actually, it's still doing it.
find quote
Mafarricos Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 221
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #51
(2014-04-17 20:32)MilhouseVH Wrote:  New OpenELEC Gotham build: #0417b
(Supercedes previous build)

[*]Kernel 3.14.y:
  • fiq_fsm: fix bounce buffer utilisation for Isochronous OUT
  • fiq_fsm: Implement timeout mechanism

With this version, I have to disable fiq fsm so movies don't freeze during play.
On #0416 this wasn't a problem.
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-18 00:33 by Mafarricos.)
find quote
allan87 Offline
Fan
Posts: 379
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #52
May I respectfully suggest that it is not necessary to quote Milhouse's entire "new build" post in order to comment on it.

I don't mean to single out the most recent person to do this, as there are dozens of such posts in the thread (i.e. the 3 segments, so far, of the thread)
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-18 00:26 by allan87.)
find quote
Mafarricos Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 221
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #53
(2014-04-18 00:26)allan87 Wrote:  May I respectfully suggest that it is not necessary to quote Milhouse's entire "new build" post in order to comment on it.

I don't mean to single out the most recent person to do this, as there are dozens of such posts in the thread (i.e. the 3 segments, so far, of the thread)

Noticed Wink
find quote
mpnico Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #54
Hi, with recent builds, stereo is broken on my setup (Denon AVR - Passthrough). I have horrible noise instead of the correct sound from the GUI sound or some MP3. DTS movies and some stereo FLAC music play pefectly though. I did'nt update for several weeks, I can't remember on which build I was before upgrading to #0415. I tried #0415 #0416 and #0417. I don't force the player in advancesettings.xml.
find quote
popcornmix Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,993
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 70
Post: #55
(2014-04-18 10:45)mpnico Wrote:  Hi, with recent builds, stereo is broken on my setup (Denon AVR - Passthrough). I have horrible noise instead of the correct sound from the GUI sound or some MP3. DTS movies and some stereo FLAC music play pefectly though. I did'nt update for several weeks, I can't remember on which build I was before upgrading to #0415. I tried #0415 #0416 and #0417. I don't force the player in advancesettings.xml.

This is something that doesn't happen for me (or most people) so won't get fixed without you helping to debug.
The most important thing is to identify the most recent build where it did work.
A clean install (or at least renaming the .xbmc directory to run with default settings) is worth a try.
Can you also post a debug log which could give some information.
find quote
popcornmix Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,993
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 70
Post: #56
(2014-04-17 20:32)MilhouseVH Wrote:  New OpenELEC Gotham build: #0417b

Anyone tried any VC-1 files with this build? Any problems? Any reduction in CPU observed?
find quote
rbej Offline
Fan
Posts: 639
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 25
Post: #57
(2014-04-18 13:49)popcornmix Wrote:  
(2014-04-17 20:32)MilhouseVH Wrote:  New OpenELEC Gotham build: #0417b

Anyone tried any VC-1 files with this build? Any problems? Any reduction in CPU observed?

Now is much better. Fast opening file and reduction cpu usage.




(This post was last modified: 2014-04-18 14:01 by rbej.)
find quote
mpnico Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #58
(2014-04-18 12:04)popcornmix Wrote:  
(2014-04-18 10:45)mpnico Wrote:  Hi, with recent builds, stereo is broken on my setup (Denon AVR - Passthrough). I have horrible noise instead of the correct sound from the GUI sound or some MP3. DTS movies and some stereo FLAC music play pefectly though. I did'nt update for several weeks, I can't remember on which build I was before upgrading to #0415. I tried #0415 #0416 and #0417. I don't force the player in advancesettings.xml.

This is something that doesn't happen for me (or most people) so won't get fixed without you helping to debug.
The most important thing is to identify the most recent build where it did work.
A clean install (or at least renaming the .xbmc directory to run with default settings) is worth a try.
Can you also post a debug log which could give some information.

Sure I will help, first message was not detailled because it could be a known issue I didn't catch in previous thread.

First I will try removing the .xbmc dir, then I will try previous build until sound is back. Thx for your help.

EDIT : removing .xbmc does nothing, and I reverted to a build more than one month ago that I pretty sure it was working and I still have the problem. Should I do a fresh install ? or puting the .tar in .update is enough to downgrade ?
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-18 22:22 by mpnico.)
find quote
rbej Offline
Fan
Posts: 639
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 25
Post: #59
Popcornmix.

Please rebase newclock3. Xbmc 13 rc1 is out.

Thanks.




find quote
Martijn Offline
Team Kodi
Posts: 11,625
Joined: Jul 2011
Reputation: 168
Location: Dawn of time
Post: #60
(2014-04-19 09:40)rbej Wrote:  Popcornmix.

Please rebase newclock3. Xbmc 13 rc1 is out.

Thanks.

no, beta4 is out. RC1 is still some time away. we just bump the version in code to identify which version you use.

Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forums before posting.
Do NOT e-mail Team-XBMC members asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, make sure you read this first

For your mediacenter artwork go to
[Image: fanarttv.png]
(This post was last modified: 2014-04-19 09:43 by Martijn.)
find quote
Post Reply