Linux - Asus/HP/Acer/Dell ChromeBox EZ Setup (OpenELEC/Linux+Kodi) [v3.15 - 2015/03/29]6

  Thread Rating:
  • 20 Vote(s) - 4.8 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Matt Devo Offline
Moderator
Posts: 1,998
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 91
Post: #4006
(Yesterday 22:46)kcallawa Wrote:  Thanks Matt for the quick reply. That sounds like it's above my knowledge level so I guess I will just buy an HDMI switch and see how that works out.

it's really not that hard, you can create the files using Notepad++ (save with Unix-style line endings) and copy it via SMB to the ChromeBox's configfile directory.

Autostart.sh:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
xrandr --output HDMI1 --off;
sleep 10;
xrandr --output HDMI1 --auto;

suspend/resume: download script in wiki, modify to read:

Code:
#!/bin/sh
case $1 in
   pre)
     xrandr --output HDMI1 --off;
     ;;
   post)
     sleep 10;
     xrandr --output HDMI1 --auto;
     ;;
esac

Questions about Kodi on an Asus/HP/Acer/Dell ChromeBox?

Check out the wiki and my EZ install script


find quote
kcallawa Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #4007
(Yesterday 22:52)Matt Devo Wrote:  
(Yesterday 22:46)kcallawa Wrote:  Thanks Matt for the quick reply. That sounds like it's above my knowledge level so I guess I will just buy an HDMI switch and see how that works out.

it's really not that hard, you can create the files using Notepad++ (save with Unix-style line endings) and copy it via SMB to the ChromeBox's configfile directory.

Autostart.sh:
Code:
#!/bin/sh
xrandr --output HDMI1 --off;
sleep 10;
xrandr --output HDMI1 --auto;

suspend/resume: download script in wiki, modify to read:

Code:
#!/bin/sh
case $1 in
   pre)
     xrandr --output HDMI1 --off;
     ;;
   post)
     sleep 10;
     xrandr --output HDMI1 --auto;
     ;;
esac

Thanks a ton. It worked like a charm.
(This post was last modified: Yesterday 23:53 by Matt Devo.)
find quote
zagor64 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mar 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #4008
(Yesterday 16:38)naloj Wrote:  
(2015-03-29 17:36)zagor64 Wrote:  I have an older TV (Samsung HLT-6187S circa 2008) and have been using xbmc/kodi for years using a windows based HTPC. Never had an issue with HDMI handshake. I recently switched over to openelec since I replaced my HTPC with the Asus chromebox. Both my older HTPC and the chromebox have HDMI handshake issues with my TV now that openelec is installed on both of them. When switching input to the chromebox/htpc all I get on the screen is a switching between a pink screen and a snow static screen. The TV senses that there is a signal because other wise it wouldn't allow switching to that input. Changing inputs to another input and them back does not help however, turning the TV off and then back on fixes the problem until the next time. Unplugging the HDMI cable and plugging it back in also fixes the issue. I rather not have to turn the tv on and off or unplug/replug the HDMI cable every time I want to use kodi especially with the WAF being an issue. Any ideas on how to fix this issue?

Yes, I had similar problems and compiled a kernel using drm-intel-nightly and I no longer have handshake issues.

It seems these fixes are destined for kernel version 4.1.

Thanks for info. Compiling a kernel is beyond my skill level so I will wait until version 4.1 is released.
find quote
Post Reply