Linux - Asus/HP/Acer/Dell ChromeBox EZ Setup (OpenELEC/Linux+Kodi) [2015/05/17]

  Thread Rating:
  • 24 Vote(s) - 4.71 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
john-d Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: May 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #4576
Hi there

I was so looking forward to putting together this box, but I have hit a problem that i can not seem to solve and would appreciate any help.

I am trying to do a standalone open-elec install on a new Asus Chromebox.

I have read the above posts and i thank everyone for their contributions.

I can not seem to find a solution.

I followed the instructions on the first page and the wiki.

Apologies for any typos below

1. I managed to get to the part of downloading the script.
2. I chose option 6- Install custom coreboot firmware
3. I was then offered the option to save my current firmware to usb drive.
4. I clicked yes.
5. It then flashed up an error stating usb drive not recognised.
6. The terminal went back to 'chronos'

I then rebooted and i could no longer get in to developer mode. It would just keep booting into chrome os

I thought i might try to start from the beginning again.
So i downloaded and restored the recovery image via usb .

After restoring i managed to:

1. Invoking recovery mode = ok
2. I enter Dev mode and it does it's normal routine of taking five minutes whilst it goes through the process of switching to developer mode. I get to 100%
3. The Chromebox reboots.
4. I press ctrl +d but it now boots to Chrome-os- It will not boot in to developer mode despite it stating it is doing so

I just can not get in to developer mode now.
When it boots to chrome os, I have noticed my keyboard does not respond to ctrl +f2 now, however other buttons work on the keyboard such as power off etc. Caps lock is also disabled now.

Have i broken something?
Please help!
(This post was last modified: Yesterday 01:00 by john-d.)
find quote
cd2022 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Nov 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #4577
If you see this at boot up, you're in developer mode,

http://kodi.wiki/images/b/b8/ChromeBox_dev_boot.jpg

Ctrl +d will boot to Chrome OS just as you said.

from the OP:

Power on and boot to ChromeOS. DO NOT LOG IN TO ChromeOS, but do ensure a network connection is set up
Hit CTRL-ALT-F2 to get to command prompt.
find quote
john-d Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: May 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #4578
Thank you for helping cd2002.

Sorry i left that part out in my post.

Yes it appears i am in developer mode according to that gif you posted.

However, when i press ctrl + alt +f2, nothing happens!

Could this mean a 'keyboard issue has arisen?

I am connected to the box via a usb keyboard and i have also tried a microsoft usb keyboard--- same result.

I confirm that i am not logged on in to chrome os.

It is strange that ctrl +d works on the keyboard, yet ctrl +alt +f2 does not!

This scenario despite a working Ethernet connection that i have tested on the chrome os itself.

I find it confusing that it allowed me to initially get to the terminal on my first attempt.

The only change that i can see from last time is that upon booting to chrome os, the os is searching for a mouse- it does not get to the sign in page--could that be the issue

Any suggestions highly appreciated.
(This post was last modified: Yesterday 03:26 by john-d.)
find quote
Matt Devo Offline
Moderator
Posts: 2,305
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 96
Post: #4579
(Yesterday 03:19)john-d Wrote:  Thank you for helping cd2002.

Sorry i left that part out in my post.

Yes it appears i am in developer mode according to that gif you posted.

However, when i press ctrl + alt +f2, nothing happens!

Could this mean a 'keyboard issue has arisen?

I am connected to the box via a usb keyboard and i have also tried a microsoft usb keyboard--- same result.

I confirm that i am not logged on in to chrome os.

It is strange that ctrl +d works on the keyboard, yet ctrl +alt +f2 does not!

This scenario despite a working Ethernet connection that i have tested on the chrome os itself.

I find it confusing that it allowed me to initially get to the terminal on my first attempt.

The only change that i can see from last time is that upon booting to chrome os, the os is searching for a mouse- it does not get to the sign in page--could that be the issue

Any suggestions highly appreciated.

So on the login screen, ChromeOS detects that a keyboard is connected, but not a mouse? That shouldn't prevent you from being able to open a terminal though. I suppose you can try running things once logged in, from a browser window hit CTRL-T then type shell. But I really haven't tested anything that way. Otherwise I'd say try unplugging/re-plugging the keyboard on the login screen.

Questions about Kodi on an Asus/HP/Acer/Dell ChromeBox?

Check out the wiki and my EZ install script


find quote
john-d Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: May 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #4580
Thank you for your suggestions Matt.

I will try that now and post back with the results.
find quote
john-d Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 4
Joined: May 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #4581
Success! Thank you very much Matt and cd2002.!

Through your help, i have managed to overcome the issue, and have now completed the standalone install. Brilliant!

I tried to disconnect and reconnect the keyboard, but there was no change. I also tried to log in to terminal via your suggestions to go via chrome os, but again, no response.

It seems the issue was related to the mouse and keyboard not being recognised.

I went to the store and purchased a cheap usb keyboard and mouse in a last desperate attempt.

I plugged them in and bingo!!! Ctrl Alt + f2 worked and the terminal opened!

It is strange how the first time i managed to get to the terminal but after that, nothing.


Your help was invaluable in keeping me sane and sticking to this project- Thanks again.
find quote
Post Reply