Loading channel list from client takes a very long time

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
jobe Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I have upgraded my installation to Gotham final and vnsi server from the new repository (fernetmenta) as well as pvr tools from opdenkamp.
I guess this should be the official repositories.

Everything seems to work fine, except that fetching the channel lists takes very long (about 2 mins.), but it was very fast in beta versions (a few seconds, I took the complete set from Fernetmentas repository).
Anyone else experiencing this problem?
Should I try another version of vnis client/server?
Any hints/keywords I should check in the logs (I already tried to find something in the logs, but had no luck)?

Many things,
Jobe
(This post was last modified: 2014-05-23 12:06 by jobe.)
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 3,667
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 70
Location: Munich
Post: #2
Make sure that you don't store egp in database. This slows down the process drastically. vdr has its own db for epg.
find quote
jobe Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
Thanks for your answer, but I am definitely not storing epg in xbmc database. Fetching epg is fine, but fetching the channel list takes very long since gotham final. Note: I use channel groups in vdr and have set the flag to synchronize channel groups in xbmc.
I did not have time to try a lot of things the past weeks, but I will have a look at the logs within the next days, maybe I can at least narrow things down.

Br
Jobe
find quote
jobe Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
Ok, it looks like the problem definitely has to do with the channel groups.
From the log I can see the following for eacht group:

Code:
09:08:11 T:140682811381504   DEBUG: PVR - GetChannelGroupMembers - get group members for group '->02-Sport' from add-on 'VDR-Network-Streaming-Interface (VNSI) Server:10.0.0.4:34890'
09:08:26 T:140682811381504   ERROR: AddOnLog: VDR VNSI Client: ReadResult - request timed out after 15 seconds
09:08:26 T:140682811381504   ERROR: PVR - GetChannelGroupMembers - addon 'VDR-Network-Streaming-Interface (VNSI) Server:10.0.0.4:34890' returned an error: server error
09:08:26 T:140682811381504   ERROR: PVR - GetChannelGroupMembers - cannot get group members from client '1': server error
09:08:26 T:140682811381504    INFO: PVRChannelGroup - RemoveDeletedChannels - deleted TV channel 'Sky Sport News HD' from group '->02-Sport'
[........]
09:08:26 T:140682811381504   DEBUG: CPVRChannelGroup - Persist - persisting channel group '->02-Sport' with 0 channels

So I have 10 channel groups, which are deleted and there is a request time out for each of them (15 sec.). Afterwards I do not have any channel groups any more.Could it be a timing issue? I am starting my vdr through WOL. Maybe things are not ready, or XBMC ist starting up faster now...?

Ok, really looks to be a timing issue. When restarting XBMC, when vdr is already running, everything is fine. So the question is, how long do I need to wait, before starting XBMC? Any ideas for a vdr request?
(This post was last modified: 2014-06-19 09:45 by jobe.)
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 3,667
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 70
Location: Munich
Post: #5
please post (pastebin) full debug log and syslog
find quote
jobe Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 31
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
XBMC Log - Part 1
XBMC Log Part 2
sys log

br,
Jobe
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 3,667
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 70
Location: Munich
Post: #7
vdr seems to hang at the time the issue occurred

Jun 19 10:01:10 [ntpd] peer 86.59.13.46 now valid
Jun 19 10:01:19 [dbus] [system] Failed to activate service 'org.freedesktop.Avahi': timed out
Jun 19 10:01:54 [G2V g2v_init.sh] VDR does not respond - Restarting

can you enable verbose logging for vdr? maybe we can get more info.
find quote
zeebee Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 3
Post: #8
How can you enable verbose logging in vdr? I've searched for a while but couldnt find it. I also have an vdr issue i cannot solve without good logs.
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 3,667
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 70
Location: Munich
Post: #9
--log=3

http://linuxtv.org/vdrwiki/index.php/VDR_options
find quote
zeebee Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 3
Post: #10
Thanks, tried that but get no error message. System just completly freezes.
find quote
FernetMenta Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 3,667
Joined: Jul 2010
Reputation: 70
Location: Munich
Post: #11
you don't get any logs from vdr at all?
find quote
zeebee Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Oct 2013
Reputation: 3
Post: #12
I get status and error logs (e.g. vnsi packet loss or which plugin is loaded), but nothing when the system locks up. I will look again in a few days, since i dont have physical access to my server right now.
find quote