New to XBMC. Can you answer a couple ?
Hi,

I have been using Windows Media Center for 7 years. In general I have been happy with it, but recently have been disappointed with the lack of development. Specifically with plug-ins for streaming media services. I think XBMC could be the answer. Can you help me begin my journey?

I like WinMC because it allowed me to stay in one environment using one remote control to access all my content. It eliminates switching inputs and fiddling with remotes. I know some of this is answered in the many posts here. I really would just like to get some direct feedback on what I am about to do.

1. Does XMBC currently support recording like a PVR
  2. Does it have plug-ins for Netflix, Hulu, Amazon, or maybe Roku?
  3. Does it support DVD and BluRay playback?
  4. I use MC extenders for other rooms. How does XBMC handle this? Will I need new hardware?
  5. This machine would only run XBMC. Is there an advantage of running, say the linux version of Windows? etc?
  6. Will XBMC accept and playback .wtv from MC?
  7. Is there anything else you can tell me?

I have an Acer AspireRevo RL80-U23 ordered and coming for this project. I will develop this offline while my Media Center continues to keep the wife happy until the conversion to XBMC.
welcome to your new addiction.
  1. yes PVR (wiki)
  2. Not internally. Via add-on it is possible depending on your OS.
  3. Absolutely Stubs (wiki) files - bluray may require some work
  4. upnp (wiki)
  5. all depends on what you want out of it.
  6. http://wiki.xbmc.org/index.php?title=Fea...ed_formats
  7. google is your friend, as is the search feature on the site.