Implementing FAT12/16/32 (and VFAT) support in XBMC
i'm interested in implementing support for the standard fat filesystems (fat12/16/32) in xbmc. this will allow the use of usb storage devices that are not fatx-formatted - e.g. ipods, usb flash disks, card readers, etc.

i'm an os developer by trade and have implemented a fat driver from scratch before (though it only did fat12/16 *grin*), and have poked around at various bits of xbox code enough that i think i have raw disk access figured out (xbpartitioner does it in order to access sector 0 of the xbox disk, which is not part of a partition). i also have the required tools.

however, i don't know a great deal about programming with the xdk, and know little/nothing about the internals of xbmc. i'm wondering if there's any documentation aimed at new developers, or similar explanation of the code. Wink

also, i'm wondering if anyone else is working on anything similar; i can't find any reference to it on the forums or on the sf project, but duplication of effort sucks *grin*.

thanks for any help in advance, and here's hoping i can contribute.
i can only speak for the xbmc part.

the logical way to do it in xbmc is via it's file system, i.e. you have to make a class inheriting cdirectory and one inheriting cfile and then activate these in the corresponding factories, cdirectoryfactory and cfilefactory.

the documentation is very sparse atm, only thing i can recommend is browsing through the code. atleast i find it very selfdocumenting, once you get hold of the basic ideas. there's a _very_ brief explanation of some of the key elements in the manual.

good luck Smile
yes, good luck indeed

<span id='me'><center>pike cheers on</center></span>
Always read the XBMC online-manual, FAQ and search the forum before posting.
Do not e-mail XBMC-Team members directly asking for support. Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting please make sure you read this first.

hello,