Android Unknown tv box, cannot get past reset/install
Sad 
Hi,

Total newbie here. Because Im a software engineer, I've been lumbered with the task of helping a family member out with their tv box.

When I was round their house, XMBC was loading up ok, but dozens of scripts errors everywhere (they had installed some bad addons I guess).
I agreed to take it home and reinstall it.

Back home, I plugged the tv box into my tv, but it was just hanging on the XMBC Loading screen.
I unplugged power for 10 secs and tried again, but no dice. Using toothpick reset, I cleared cache partition, but that didn't help either.

Finally I did a full erase and factory reset.
This did allow me to get past XBMC Loading screen, but now I cannot complete the install procedure.

It uses some AMLinux install gui (maybe thats normal?), when I try to get past the stage where you set the hostname..

As soon as I hit next, all the text in the dialog disappears, leaving just the Next button. Clicking on Next more times does nothing, and I've left it for 20 mins incase it was doing something in the background.

Im stuck at this stage and cannot proceed, even after factory resetting half a dozen times. Ive tried using a different hostname, and just accepting the default, but its no use.

Finally, since I really know nothing about this device, I have no idea where I would get some new firmware, or even whats compatible with it. I know right now its running XBMC Frodo 12.3

From what I understand these MX boxes are just generic, from different manufacturers a with different hardware.
Unfortunately apart from the MX logo on the device, mine has no manufacturer branding at all

Here's some pics of the device and the box

Any advice really appreciated

Thanks!

hi have you tried this it worked for me

XBMC Re-Install Instructions

First we need to Reset the Unit.
1. Go to the screen with all the apps
2. Press Setup on your remote
3. Scroll to Backup & Reset
4. Click Factory Data Reset