Looking for the correct Media Server to use
I am still pretty new to this, I looked at Plex, and am now looking at xbmc. In Plex, I set up a media server and then can Stream my DVD collection to any TV in the house either streaming it via HTTP, or via Plex app (none for Sony TV's at this time, but Chromecast appears to work fine). It looks like this can be also done with xbmc by using common shared directories on a NAS box which should not be a problem. The question I cant seem to find anywhere is:

Do i need a seperate machine (computer) to be physically tied to each TV to accomplish this with xbmc, or are there apps that can be loaded on Sony TV's etc that allow them to reach thru the network without the need for additional hardware at each tv location. If each TV needs a comp station, would a thin client work?

Thanks
Al
(2014-06-13, 17:03)mral70 Wrote: I am still pretty new to this, I looked at Plex, and am now looking at xbmc. In Plex, I set up a media server and then can Stream my DVD collection to any TV in the house either streaming it via HTTP, or via Plex app (none for Sony TV's at this time, but Chromecast appears to work fine). It looks like this can be also done with xbmc by using common shared directories on a NAS box which should not be a problem. The question I cant seem to find anywhere is:

Do i need a seperate machine (computer) to be physically tied to each TV to accomplish this with xbmc, or are there apps that can be loaded on Sony TV's etc that allow them to reach thru the network without the need for additional hardware at each tv location. If each TV needs a comp station, would a thin client work?

Thanks
Al

A computer running xbmc attached to each TV is your best bet.

Smart TVs have a dlna/upnp client and xbmc can share via upnp. However xbmc does no transcoding so it can be hit and miss whether it will work with any particular combination of media file and TV.

Take a look at mediabrowser3 too.