Release - script.ambibox for ambient lighting [Windows Only]

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
crown08 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 22
Joined: Jul 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #166
Good Night, same problem here with Krypton. I am using the last gitnub versiĆ³n 1.0.9.0 but in Kodi Direct mode the capture speed is only 1 or 2 fps in Ambibox.

In the kodi.log I see very much messages how that

00:43:47.817 T:2376 NOTICE: ### [AmbiBox] - Missed frame at 1
00:43:49.994 T:5176 NOTICE: Previous line repeats 32 times.

Thanks for this great addon
find quote
Bavilo Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #167
Having the same problem with Krypton and the latest Ambibox version. When is this getting fixed?
find quote
Merwenus Offline
Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #168
Any information about Krypton 17 update? Or is this addon abandoned?
find quote
Bavilo Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #169
I have just ordered a Raspberry 3. I am going to switch to Hyperion. Ambibox is just too buggy and not maintained anymore as it seems.
find quote
Bavilo Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Feb 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #170
I'm so glad to be away from Ambibox. I constantly had to adjust LED delays which seemed to be different for every kind of media I was playing. I also had to get up at least once in a movie to restart the Arduino because the LEDs just turned off.

The Raspberry Pi 3 and Hyperion just works flawless without having to install some third party software on my PC. I'm sure a Raspberry Pi 2 would suffice as well.
find quote
KenV99 Offline
Fan
Posts: 506
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 28
Post: #171
So the issues with the way this addon works in concert with Kodi do not seem to be solvable.
It was always somewhat of a hack - using Kodi's screengrabbing interface as a frameserver and then passing the formatted frames to the ambibox executable.
In Krypton, the screengrabbing routines were rewritten and do not perform the same as with previous versions.

I am getting 10 fps at best on a beefy system.
My test routines that only test Kodi's infrastructure also shows the same limitations.

As I have mentioned before, I long ago stopped using ambibox on my HTPC. I have been using a splitter with a hardware capture device that feeds an Rpi:
http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...pid2114732

Using that, I have ambient lighting from ALL of my sources, not just out of Kodi.

I have been trying to maintain the script through the transition, but infrastructure changes in Kodi are out of my hands.
Hard to want to devote my spare time to this when the issue is not in the script but in Kodi and I don't even use the script for my own HTPC.
find quote
djcorvus Offline
Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #172
So there's no hope at all??

I only built my adalight rig a few months ago and now it's useless??
Sorry, but I'm furious! This thing cost me $150 Sad

Is there really no other way at all?
Do the Kodi developers know about this? Can they fix this?

How does this Hyperion thing work? Can I hook it up to my existing LED lights (I don't know what make/model they are, but it's these: https://www.adafruit.com/products/322)? Or will I have to start from scratch again? Is there any solution at all that will enable me to use my existing LEDS?

I am only using this with Kodi, however I wouldn't mind a solution that enables capture from multiple HDMI sources - but I am worried that doing things that way will be expensive since every component in my AV system is HDMI 2.0a and a splitter will 'break' the chain and make it impossible to watch 4K60 content.

Sorry about all the questions, but I am extremely new at this and have barely any coding experience.
Can somebody please advise?
(This post was last modified: 2017-03-25 14:25 by djcorvus.)
find quote
p750mmx Offline
Fan
Posts: 386
Joined: Feb 2012
Reputation: 6
Location: Netherlands
Post: #173
(2017-03-25 14:23)djcorvus Wrote:  So there's no hope at all??

I only built my adalight rig a few months ago and now it's useless??
Sorry, but I'm furious! This thing cost me $150 Sad

Is there really no other way at all?
Do the Kodi developers know about this? Can they fix this?

How does this Hyperion thing work? Can I hook it up to my existing LED lights (I don't know what make/model they are, but it's these: https://www.adafruit.com/products/322)? Or will I have to start from scratch again? Is there any solution at all that will enable me to use my existing LEDS?

I am only using this with Kodi, however I wouldn't mind a solution that enables capture from multiple HDMI sources - but I am worried that doing things that way will be expensive since every component in my AV system is HDMI 2.0a and a splitter will 'break' the chain and make it impossible to watch 4K60 content.

Sorry about all the questions, but I am extremely new at this and have barely any coding experience.
Can somebody please advise?
Maybe there is? On my previous "cinema" setup I've used a Lightpack clone in combination with Ambibox, and that "worked" most of the time great. Sometimes a cold reboot was necessary to get the things going again, but most of the time it worked great. I've also have a Adalight setup somewhere in a box but al the separate lights and strings was to messy to put on a back of a TV in my situation (you can see the back of the TV when walking by).

When changing to a whole new 4k setup (TV, receiver, HTPC), my family began missing the extra lighting on the back of the TV so I've ordered a new (same) Lightpack (clone) that I have used before. I'd soon find out that Ambibox, Kodi 17.x and a 4k resolution wasn't the best combination (very sluggish and not responsive), useless shall we say?

So the hint that I've got from the seller was to use Prismatik with a Windows 10 setup and so I did. This wasn't a right out of the box solution for me with the standard Prismatik version but extensive searching on the internet seems to brought the solution. Just testing right now but al is looking very promising.

So..., maybe make a new beginning with something else then Ambibox, Prismatik maybe?

Looking at the topic-title this is of-topic here, so I will not go any further by polluting this one.

20170321-msdk_mvc_wip
Asrock Deskmini 110 [Kaby Lake i5-7400/HD630 graphics]
Windows 10 Creators Update Final [3840x2160/60Hz]
UpTab active DisplayPort 1.2 convertor > 4k HDMI 2.0a
Marantz NR1606 4K60Hz
LG Oled 55EF950V
Kodi 2160p - 4k i3D
[4k/60Hz success] [i3D 4k success]
(This post was last modified: 2017-03-26 10:00 by p750mmx.)
find quote
KenV99 Offline
Fan
Posts: 506
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 28
Post: #174
(2017-03-25 14:23)djcorvus Wrote:  So there's no hope at all??

I only built my adalight rig a few months ago and now it's useless??
Sorry, but I'm furious! This thing cost me $150 Sad

Is there really no other way at all?
Do the Kodi developers know about this? Can they fix this?

How does this Hyperion thing work? Can I hook it up to my existing LED lights (I don't know what make/model they are, but it's these: https://www.adafruit.com/products/322)? Or will I have to start from scratch again? Is there any solution at all that will enable me to use my existing LEDS?

I am only using this with Kodi, however I wouldn't mind a solution that enables capture from multiple HDMI sources - but I am worried that doing things that way will be expensive since every component in my AV system is HDMI 2.0a and a splitter will 'break' the chain and make it impossible to watch 4K60 content.

Sorry about all the questions, but I am extremely new at this and have barely any coding experience.
Can somebody please advise?

So the history of this is that going way back, Kodi (XBMC) included a python interface into this frame server. As best as I can tell this was to take screenshots.
The original developer of the Ambibox executable wrote routines to take those frames and send them directly to the Ambibox executable and found that XBMC served them up at reasonably good rates to make the whole thing work. I took over in 2013, improved a lot of things, added some things, optimized parts with c calls (ctypes.memove() etc) and things were good through Jarvis.
I know for a fact that using that part of API, the system *could* be pushed to the point that the video would stutter on *some* systems as a result of requesting large frames frequently.
The Kodi developers decided during the Krypton development cycle that these routines were poorly written and rewrote a good part of this subsystem.
It is only conjecture on my part, but I think in order to shield the rest of the system, the buffer was written to that it is lower in priority and that it will protect the video output at the cost of serving frames through the API.
If you go back through this thread and search the rest of the board and the bug tracking system, you will see that I made them aware of this and they fixed true bugs, but do not seem concerned that the performance is poor.
After all, this is meant for screen shots. Not as an interface to grab full speed video. So feel free to complain to them, but I will expect them to tell you learn how to code and try to improve it yourself. After all, they, like me, do this in their spare time as a hobby and for free. And I don't even use ambibox for my ambient lighting setup, as mentioned above.

Hyperion uses the same infrastructure and the last time I looked around, they were having similar issues.

Doing a simple google search I found several HDMI 2.0a compliant, HDCP compliant splitters capable of 4K60Hz, but they aren't cheap (i.e. https://www.pulse-eight.com/p/177/1x2-hd...22-support).
find quote
djcorvus Offline
Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #175
I understand all that, but is there any other software solution I can use to get Kodi working with my adalight system?
find quote
Merwenus Offline
Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Nov 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #176
There is, you don't use kodi direct but Windows 8 capture in ambibox. The addon for kodi works well if you define a full HD capture instead of kodi direct. Using this way in the past few months 20+ FPS.
Use Kodi windowed fullscreen instead of normal fullscreen.
find quote
djcorvus Offline
Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Jul 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #177
Can anyone tell me if the Boblight addon has a similar issue? (do both addons use the same capture method?).
I don't want to use Windows 8 capture mode because there is no way for it to automatically detect and ignore letterboxing when watching movies. Some type of Kodi plugin is necessary for this.
find quote
OB1KOB Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Apr 2017
Reputation: 0
Post: #178
Doesn't work with h265 files on kodi 17.1. windows 7 (capture method direct), works well with all other files.
Someone have the same problem? Any idea for possible solution?
find quote
Post Reply