Can't connect to Tvheadend IP

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
brohawk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Hi guys, hoping for some help here. I have a RPi w/ OpenELEC, Hauppauge 950Q and Tvheadend installed on a wired connection in the living room and am trying to connect wirelessly from a laptop a few yards away to configure the Hauppauge. Entering the Pi's IP 192.168.0.245:9981 into a browser fails to connect. I can however still connect to just 192.168.0.245 and view my library, etc. Wondering what could possibly be wrong. Should I just try to wire the laptop to the same modem and see if I can then connect and configure?

Interestingly, I've recently changed ISPs and with it I installed a new modem/wireless router. Before this router change, I could see the Pi on my network from the laptop, as well as the wireless printer on the network just fine. Since then, I can no longer see the Pi as connected (although the printer still shows up just fine). Can still SSH in w/o problems, and the Pi is able to access files from the laptop via SMB too. But the laptop still can't see the Pi as connected to the network. Could this possibly be why I'm not able to connect to Tvheadend, or unrelated?

Appreciate any advice anyone's willing to give.
find quote
nickr Offline
Donor
Posts: 9,216
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 167
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #2
Firewall?

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
stuCONNERS Offline
Fan
Posts: 345
Joined: Nov 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
log into your router and see if it shows the pi as connected

try 192.168.1.254 on your address bar. What router your got?

EDIT: make sure TVheadend is enabled. Are you using the tvheadend from the openelec addons section?

Total XBMC spend so far: £76
Rpi (£24) + Pogoplug V2 (£15) + HD Star DVB-S2 (£29) + GPIO Ir (£3) + NOOBS 8GB SD (£5) = Cheap Media Center
(This post was last modified: 2014-07-11 23:23 by stuCONNERS.)
find quote
nickr Offline
Donor
Posts: 9,216
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 167
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #4
Come on his network is on 192.168.0.x not .1.x. his router will not be on .1.254.

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
brohawk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Firewall shows XBMC as an exception.

Yes, 192.168.1.245 wouldn't connect either. Hardwired the laptop to the modem and still can't connect to the 9981 port, and still can't see the Pi on the laptop's network. Router is a ZyXEL PK5001Z DSL modem/router w/ CenturyLink. Besides setting up a basic wireless network, I'm a noob w/ networking in general. Looking at the router's DHCP settings, modem's IP address is 192.168.0.1, starting IP 192.168.0.2 and ending IP 192.168.0.245.

I'm beginning to think this problem is coming down to the new router; I bought it used and am guessing there are remnants of the former owner's settings. Maybe should do a full reset and new setup. Meantime, I'll try my old ISP which hasn't been disconnected yet and old modem and see if I can get to the Hauppauge. Will report back. Thanks very much to everyone for the suggestions so far.
find quote
brohawk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
OK, w/ the old ISP and router, I still can't connect, still can't see the Pi... Did a "clean" install of OpenELEC (4.0.6) / Gotham 13.1 by swapping in a 2nd USB stick, still no love. What settings on the laptop or Pi could I possibly be missing? Like I said, can SSH just fine, Pi can access laptop's shared folders too.

Tvheadend enabled via system/addons/pvr clients/ tvheadend client.
find quote
brohawk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
And then I realized I hadn't enabled the backend via OpenELEC, which Stu suggested above--actually was quite hard to find until I went back to using the Confluence skin w/ the clean install. I made it into the config page now. (still can't figure out why I can't see the Pi on the network) Anyway, sorry to waste everyone's time, but I appreciate the help nonetheless.
find quote
negge Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,380
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 25
Location: Finland
Post: #8
One easy way to check what ports a computer is actually listening on is to log in using SSH and run "sudo netstat -tulpn". It's fairly easy to remember the switches since it's almost "tulpan" (the flower).
find quote
brohawk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Alright, this still isn't working. I'd been planning to switch to the usb drive while installing live tv as I didn't want to wear out the ext hdd that my old settings were stored on, and it was terribly slow anyway, w/ the hdd constantly sleeping and starting back up. Although I could finally connect to 9981 w/ the hdd's settings yesterday, I still couldn't w/ the usb stick's settings. Today I reformatted the stick as ext4, and have enabled tvheadend backend from the official openelec addons section. I then enabled and installed the tvheadend hts addon, and i've enabled live tv in general settings.

Cannot access 9981 on my windows laptop. I just get a can't connect notice in the browser. Sure, I could give up the usb stick idea and go back to the ext hdd for my storage, but I don't see the point. W/ the hdd I can get into tvh settings and select my hauppauge 950q (detected as Auvitek AU8522 QAM/8VSB), add my network location, scan for muxes and see a long list of muxes and services. But hitting the map dvb services to channels button doesn't do a thing. I just have mux and services lists w/ a lot of 0's for identifiers. This road block# 2 I don't really want to tackle on a storage device I don't really want to use in the first place. Setting up live tv is unfortunately beginning to look like my worst xbmc experience ever.

Anyone have any advice?
find quote
nickr Offline
Donor
Posts: 9,216
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 167
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #10
Yes, go ask the TVH people perhaps?

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
negge Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,380
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 25
Location: Finland
Post: #11
Provide the output of "netstat -tulpn" and a debug log from OpenELEC.
find quote
negge Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 2,380
Joined: Dec 2010
Reputation: 25
Location: Finland
Post: #12
The problem where you don't get any channels is something you have to take up on tvheadend.org or #hts on irc.freenode.net. Sounds like you're using ATSC which isn't supported nearly as well as DVB.
find quote
brohawk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #13
Yes, it's ATSC, which I've been reading isn't up to speed w/ DVB. I'll head over there if I can get past this connection issue.

Here's netstat -tulpn:

OpenELEC (official) Version: 4.0.7
OpenELEC:~ # netstat -tulpn
netstat: showing only processes with your user ID
Active Internet connections (only servers)
Proto Recv-Q Send-Q Local Address Foreign Address State PID/Program name
tcp 0 0 127.0.0.1:45550 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 386/xbmc.bin
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:111 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 298/rpcbind
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:80 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 386/xbmc.bin
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:22 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 323/sshd
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:36666 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 386/xbmc.bin
tcp 0 0 0.0.0.0:445 0.0.0.0:* LISTEN 367/smbd
tcp 0 0 ::1:9090 :::* LISTEN 386/xbmc.bin
tcp 0 0 :::111 :::* LISTEN 298/rpcbind
tcp 0 0 :::80 :::* LISTEN 386/xbmc.bin
tcp 0 0 :::22 :::* LISTEN 323/sshd
tcp 0 0 :::36666 :::* LISTEN 386/xbmc.bin
tcp 0 0 :::36667 :::* LISTEN 386/xbmc.bin
udp 0 0 0.0.0.0:51483 0.0.0.0:* 267/connmand
udp 0 0 0.0.0.0:9777 0.0.0.0:* 386/xbmc.bin
udp 0 0 0.0.0.0:111 0.0.0.0:* 298/rpcbind
udp 0 0 0.0.0.0:897 0.0.0.0:* 298/rpcbind
udp 0 0 192.168.0.255:137 0.0.0.0:* 325/nmbd
udp 0 0 192.168.0.245:137 0.0.0.0:* 325/nmbd
udp 0 0 0.0.0.0:137 0.0.0.0:* 325/nmbd
udp 0 0 192.168.0.255:138 0.0.0.0:* 325/nmbd
udp 0 0 192.168.0.245:138 0.0.0.0:* 325/nmbd
udp 0 0 0.0.0.0:138 0.0.0.0:* 325/nmbd
udp 0 0 0.0.0.0:5353 0.0.0.0:* 208/avahi-daemon: r
udp 0 0 :::111 :::* 298/rpcbind
udp 0 0 :::897 :::* 298/rpcbind
OpenELEC:~ #
find quote
brohawk Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Sep 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #14
http://xbmclogs.com/show.php?id=246278
find quote
nickr Offline
Donor
Posts: 9,216
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 167
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #15
There doesn't seem to be anything running on port 9981. is hts even running?

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
Post Reply