Can I connect Comcast cable box into XBMC box via HDMI-In?

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
jbrady3324 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
I am familiar with the PVR setups, but I actually enjoy the X1 interface. I am curious if there is a way for me to run the Comcast X1 box through my XBMC box using HDMI-In so I can view the X1 interface and watch able TV via my XBMC interface. I believe Xbox One offers some kind of functionality like this and I am curious if XBMC can do it to. I believe this is called Pass-Through or something similar..

My goal is to have everything be on one HDMI input and one interface
find quote
TheReef510 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Aug 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
No.
find quote
jbrady3324 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 45
Joined: Apr 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
That is a bummer. I think this would be a great feature to add/implement. Although, I am not sure any Video Cards have HDMI-In
(This post was last modified: 2014-08-25 18:03 by jbrady3324.)
find quote
nickr Offline
Donor
Posts: 9,216
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 167
Location: Christchurch NZ
Post: #4
No but there are capture cards that do. It's not really a video card function is it?

If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the plus button and increase my reputation :)
find quote
Ned Scott Offline
Team-Kodi Wiki Guy
Posts: 21,377
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 277
Location: Arizona, USA
Post: #5
I'm not sure how well XBMC runs on them, but there are a number of Google TV boxes that can run XBMC and also have HDMI input, with kind of the same idea as the Xbox One. That might be worth looking into.

You can make easy links to the XBMC wiki using double brackets around common XBMC words: [[debug log]] = debug log, [[Video library]] = Video library, [[SMB]] = SMB , [[userdata]] = userdata, etc
find quote