Done with the original AppleTV
I had a blast "hacking" the ATV, but this thing is so hot that I have to isolate it from everything else and will eventually reach a hardware limit. But seriously...SO HOT.

So, as I am most definitely a design-conscious person and would much rather purchase something someone has already designed and thought out, I'm looking for recommendations for pre-existing XBMC boxes. That VidOn box looks great but I have no experience with them or XBMC on Android (or Android by itself) whatsoever.

Who would be so kind as to throw out some good models to check out?

Thanks! Big Grin
Asus Chromebox + hp mce remote = bad ass and totally better than apple tv.
Cool, I had read some posts knocking the Chromebox as not as good in certain things as a FireTV. I should clarify I will only use this to view movies off a hard drive collection, I don't need great streaming capabilities per se.
purely in terms of XBMC, there's nothing the FTV does better than the ChromeBox - quite the opposite in fact. It's advantages lie solely in it being part of the Android ecosystem, and having other apps available (eg, Netflix/Hulu)
Well good, I'm sold!
I'll add that while there are no advantages with using the Fire TV over a Chromebox for XBMC alone, the Fire TV is a better choice if you plan on using Netflix, Hulu, Amazon Instant Streaming, etc at all. It's also great for other apps in the Android ecosystem, as the other user said. Android/Fire TV apps launch perfectly from within XBMC and return to it when you exit them. I had the GF playing Goat Simulator yesterday on it and we were cracking up.
Can't attach a USB drive with movies to a Fire TV... firmware won't allow it.... can't load some modules to xbmc cause root access is needed check the FireTV xbmc WiKi..
FireTV is a android fork anything that works on FireTV works on Android but you can get android players that are totally open and unrestricted.