Linux 5.1 vs Dolby Pro Logic II output
Hi all!

I've been using XBMC for a few years now, recently running Ubuntu 12.10 and XBMC 13.1, on a Zotac ND22 with a Pioneer VSX-1022-K receiver. However this Ubuntu release has gone out of support, so I'm redoing my installation with 14.04 so I can continue to get new releases Smile

I have a lot of content which is DPL2 encoded, and some which is full 5.1. Previously, when I played a stereo/DPL2 file, the receiver would recognize the stereo signal and allow me to choose a DPL2 decoder mode. When I played a 5.1 file, it would automatically jump into a surround-sound mode. This was great!

However, I've run into an audio issue with 14.04/13.2. In the Ubuntu system sound settings, I have to choose between Stereo or 5.1 for the HDMI output. It then seems to always be in this mode, regardless of what I play in XBMC. The problem is that if I enable the 5.1 support, then the receiver won't let me choose DPL2 anymore when I play a stereo file. Whereas if I choose the stereo mode, then I lose the back channels on 5.1 content.

My theory is that it is always emitting 5.1 but with empty back channels, but the receiver doesn't know the extra channels aren't actually in use to let me override them with DPL2. (I realize this is more of an Ubuntu issue since it reproduces with other players e.g. VLC, but I'm hoping media-savvy forum like this will know what's going on.)

How can I get back the old behavior where it would dynamically switch the number of channels in use to match the media content?

Thanks!
This functionality can currently only be done with pure ALSA. Therefore start xbmc as follows:

Code:
AE_SINK=ALSA xbmc

This will bypass _your_ installed pulseaudio server and will make sever problems especially if an additional browser is running or something that else that wants to make sound.
First decide what functions / features you expect from a system. Then decide for the hardware. Don't waste your money on crap.