Sluggish HD playback
As I mentioned in my other thread, I've recently changed from Windows to XBMCbuntu. I've identified another issue, namely that HD videos (even 720p) playback very slowly - like half the proper speed. This is a dedicated HTPC and definitely capable of playing 1080p as I have been on the Windows install. I checked in top and the CPU usage only seemed to be about 13-14% (up from 8% in the XBMC GUI) when playing these movies but I may have made an error there, I'm new to Linux. Toying with the settings hasn't seemed to achieve anything. SD MP4's are playing fine. Any ideas why this might be happening?
The problem is possibly audio related (yes playing to a wrongly set up audio setting can make the video go slow.).

I suggest a debug log (wiki) , screenshots of your audio settings page (with settings level set to advanced) and a description of how your audio is set up, eg computer --hdmi-->tv

computer--HDMI-->AVR--HDMI-->Tv

comp--SPDIF-->AVR

etc,
If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thumbs up' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "thumbs up" button.)
Log file here: http://pastebin.com/wPQRYBqv

XBMC Log Uploader wouldn't run so I needed to pull the log file using SFTP and part of the log file relates to those script failures too.

I did mess around with the audio settings a bit to see if anything would change and I didn't see any effect. My current set up is HTPC => HDMI => AVR => TV (no SPDIF). Audio settings: http://i.imgur.com/bOX4mRh.png (have also tried with passthrough enabled).
Your log does not have debugging turned on.

Install pastebinit
Code:
sudo apt-get install pastebinit
Turn on debugging
restart kodi
reproduce the problem
run
Code:
pastebinit .kodi/temp/kodi.log
If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thumbs up' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "thumbs up" button.)