Dependability all around
I've been playing with XBMC and now Kodi for several years. This is a frustration POST - XBMC & KODI are great ideas, but just like most Linux stuff out there, it gets updated and changed faster than one can keep up with. (unless you live on your computer and this program only) I hate Microsoft, but their stuff just works, no command line BS, it just works.
Installing Kodi or XBMC on Raspberry Pi B and B+ has been fun, but not too productive. I spend so much time trying to get a show to load, I get frustrated and just give up and put a movie out of my collection on to watch.

I own and operate a computer repair shop, so I know a bit of command line, I've been playing with Linux for years. I'm not computer illiterate at all, I just try and set up computers to sell that have cool programs on it for them to experiment with. I've tried setting up XBMC on several of my customers machines, only to get a phone call asking how to get it off their computers because it sucks.

The big guns in the TV world are going to be sending their products over the internet, as soon as they can find a way to double dip on making money, and this XBMC/KODI project will be defunct or illegal to use.

I've been patient, watched many you tube videos, with endless way to do things that are obsolete the next day, it just sucks. I'm very disappointed with this whole mess and hope someone comes up with a better idea... SOON, or this project will be more worthless than it already is.
So you own a computer repair shop and you can't get it to work. Warning to all:never buy stuff from this guy!!
Read/follow the forum rules.
For troubleshooting and bug reporting, read this first
Interested in seeing some YouTube videos about Kodi? Go here and subscribe
I've had people who have never heard of XBMC/Kodi and with little computer knowledge being able to install and use it with no problems, with a little guidance.