Linux need help to install mythtv on xbmc/kodibuntu
Hi

I need some help on how to install mythtv and setup wirh HD Homerun Dual on xbmc/kodibuntu. I see many using it but not on how to install it and set it up.
I've been searching the forum and web but I have not been able to find anything that could help me, only on how is working and streaming.
every time I found something about how to install is outdated and is not working anymore.

I would like if it's possible to get a step by step guide?

I'm new in the Linux world so please keep it simple

so I hope someone can help me out.
Start by installing the mythbuntu mythtv repos so you can have the latest versions.

http://www.mythbuntu.org/repos

And thee wiki should help you get started:

https://www.mythtv.org/wiki/mythtv-setup
do i need to reinstall to mythbuntu or can i still be on xbmc/kodibuntu?

i don't see any repo to add on the first like you send me..
You can install in xbmcbuntu, this is the ppa

https://launchpad.net/~mythbuntu/+archive/ubuntu/0.27
okay i use this to add the repo sudo apt-add-repository ppa:mythbuntu/0.27 but i still don't know how get it to install,
i look at synaptic package manager but there's so many things i can install call myth and don't know which one I need to use
do you have the command i need to type in the terminal/ssh?
I'm not at a PC but

sudo apt-get install mythtv

Should do it
thanks that worked,

when i install mythtv it ask me to make a password for mysql database
but under sudo mythtv-setup it ask for ip, username and pass, so i use the ip i install mythtv on and the root and the password i make under the install but it say in the log window that open

it can't connect to mysql server on 192.168.1.102 (111)

and it start over.

is there a way so i can save the log from the mythtv setup terminal window that open up. so i can show you what it say?