Win Kodi library & external HDDs
Hello!

I'm kinda new to Kodi and its library feature. (I'm using Windows 8.1)
I have all my media files in several 2.5" USB HDDs which I connect as needed (I have an HDD for movies, one for TV series, one for anime etc.).
Which would be the best way to manage my media via Kodi's library?
Is there a way to store a Kodi library in each HDD so Kodi would detect it when I plug it the HDD? (I mean a library for movies, one for TV shows etc...)
Or I must create a global library? Although with a global library I'm afraid there could be conflicts: if I scan each HDD connecting them one by one they would all get the same drive letter so when I connect 2 HDD the media files on the second HDD would be unreachable.
How do you manage your library?

Thanks for the help.
hi,

have you considered a USB hub to allow you to have all your drives connected simultaneously?

they are quite cheap Smile

(I use a NAS to store my media, and a MySQL database to view it all)
4x R-Pi4b LibreELEC v10 | Aeon Nox: SiLVO | Flirc cases
Storage Synology DS411 | 4 x WD RED 6TB
Software MariaDB 10.4.19 | Filebot | Ember Media Manager
wiki (wiki) | First time user (wiki) | Debug_Log (wiki) | mysql (wiki) | artwork (wiki)
I know but the thing is that the PC is kinda portable (it's an Asus VivoPC) and I don't have much room where I keep it
I think you can assign drive letters to drives specifically in windows, so that it remembers it.

However anything can change and mess that up, so keep that in mind.

If you want to keep it "portable", perhaps its time to get a single larger external hdd that can hold everything, problem solved?
Thanks for your reply.

I thought about assigning drive letters too but as you said it's very easy to mess that up. Also connecting all the hard drives via an usb hub could be a solution but my wife will surely kill me because of the ugly web of cables...