openmediavault
does anyone here use openmediavault ? can it be easily used as a tv backend , i say easily because i`m a total noob with server/nas software . im pretty good with windows tho and xbmc/kodi . thanks in advance
Hi I use openmediavault have done since 2012 and works flawlessly for what i need. however am not sure about your query.

i would recommend looking on the openmediavault forum they are very active there as i remember seeing some threads about tv related plugins.
thanks . i guess the best thing is to just take the plunge and see what i learn along the way lol . i`ve had a bit of a look on there but there seems to be compiling/coding/messing around to do to get pvr backends working . never used linux so that would all be new to me . wish me luck lol
Good luck and ask questions there there helpful am sure someone wrote a step by step guide on it before could of even of been made into a plugin by now.

Either way it's based on Debian wheezy so very easy to do things with the os
OMV works great. Setting it up can be a little tricky with shares and permission I suggest don't use ACL.

There is a VDR plugin but that requires some config in config files if I am not mistaken. Some are also running TVH which can be configured vie web interface.
thank for the advice . yeah i`d heard it would run tvheadend with some tinkering . its my first attemp at building a nas and using omv . so i`m trying to learn whatever i can before i take the plunge . fingers crossed theres an easy way for me lol
Frankly I think you'd be better running a normal Linux distro. They all share files like you want a nas to do. But (for example) mythbuntu will make setting up a pvr backend much easier.
If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thumbs up' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "thumbs up" button.)