Playing movies
Video 
I was just wondering what's the easiest way to get movies into Rasbmc?
Rip them from your DVDs or blurays onto your server or nas and play them via the network.
If I have helped you or increased your knowledge, click the 'thumbs up' button to give thanks :) (People with less than 20 posts won't see the "thumbs up" button.)
(2015-01-24, 03:59)nickr Wrote: Rip them from your DVDs or blurays onto your server or nas and play them via the network.

Sorry I'm new to all this. How do you move them onto your server?
This is such a simple-looking question that I suspect we need to start at the beginning:
1. what sort of media do you get your movies from?
2. do you have a PC which can network with the Pi, and what OS is it running?
Derek
(2015-01-24, 11:48)dandnsmith Wrote: This is such a simple-looking question that I suspect we need to start at the beginning:

I have a windows desktop and I'd like to get my movies from either ITunes or DVDs either way works
(2015-01-24, 17:01)Slapshot135 Wrote:
(2015-01-24, 11:48)dandnsmith Wrote: This is such a simple-looking question that I suspect we need to start at the beginning:

I have a windows desktop and I'd like to get my movies from either ITunes or DVDs either way works

You can forget iTunes AFAIK that simply won't work. If you rip a DVD and store the movies in a folder and then share that folder you'll be able to add that folder as a source in KODI.
HTPCs: 2 x Chromecast with Google TV
Audio: Pioneer VSX-819HK & S-HS 100 5.1 Speakers
Server: HP Compaq Pro 6300, 4GB RAM, 8.75TB, Bodhi Linux 5.x, NFS, MySQL
(2015-01-25, 00:00)speedwell68 Wrote:
(2015-01-24, 17:01)Slapshot135 Wrote:

You can forget iTunes AFAIK that simply won't work. If you rip a DVD and store the movies in a folder and then share that folder you'll be able to add that folder as a source in KODI.

I'm not sure how you guys do this but I tried moving the dvd into a flash drive and it partially worked- I got video but not audio