Best OS for Kodi
I've been running XBMC for a few years on an ION-based system on regular Ubuntu. Now that 12.04 Precise is no longer supported, I'm looking at upgrading to the next LTS version, and also upgrading from Gotham to Kodi, so I'm reconsidering all options. Is Ubuntu still the best OS to run Kodi? My system also runs rtorrent, dropbox (for auto-torrents), subsonic music server, and AirPrint server, but none of these things requires GUI, so XBMC runs full-screen all the time.

I'm considering OpenElec, just to improve UI snappiness. I have an occasional delay because of the low power CPU. But I think it might be a headache trying to get all my other services running. What about Kodibuntu, would that be a better option? Anything else I should consider?
Ubuntu 1204 should be supported till 2017, unless something has changed... But going by your requirements kodibuntu sounds like a good fit.
Indeed incorrect assumption 12.04 LTS is indeed supported (Kodibuntu uses a newer LTS is all doesnt mean 12.04 is unsupported).
Here both ION and a newer atom + gt610 systems both using 12.04LTS and unless there's some some OCD itch I need to scratch, then in such case where even medication wont do it, then and only then a fresh install is considered of 14.04 LTS or a Newer LTS happens to be, but always LTS.

The only variance is https://launchpad.net/~universal/+archiv...ia-updates which I only done to newer system not ION yet.

OE you may gain snappiness but all services you run now you very likely wont be able to run them anymore, depends if OE has addons for these.

Personally Im not a fan of Kodibuntu or OE, rather I install minimal Ubuntu with no desktop environments (like server but not) etc and customise it to my needs... But If I needed a desktop environment pre configured to run Kodi, then Kodibuntu would be my first choice.