No sound while playing mp3 44.1KHz (KODIbuntu 14.1 on Intel NUC + HDMI to DENON)

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
fritsch Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 8,129
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 183
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #16
Yes - they are.

As are most mp3s. And the 44.1 khz issue is not content specific.

Also a simple
speaker-test -D plughw:0,3 -r 44100 <- should not work
speaker-test -D plughw:0,3 -r 48000 <- should work


from the desktop session

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log No answer yet? http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 8,129
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 183
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #17
Other test from kodi, the xrandr command you can do via ssh.

Menu sounds not working, after (while running Kodi):
DISPLAY=:0 /usr/lib/kodi/kodi-xrandr --output HDMI1 --mode 0x48

Menu sounds start working after (while running Kodi)
DISPLAY=:0 /usr/lib/kodi/kodi-xrandr --output HDMI1 --mode 0xae

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log No answer yet? http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
find quote
shturm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Dec 2004
Reputation: 0
Location: San Jose, CA
Post: #18
(2015-02-18 09:20)fritsch Wrote:  Other test from kodi, the xrandr command you can do via ssh.

Menu sounds not working, after (while running Kodi):
DISPLAY=:0 /usr/lib/kodi/kodi-xrandr --output HDMI1 --mode 0x48

Menu sounds start working after (while running Kodi)
DISPLAY=:0 /usr/lib/kodi/kodi-xrandr --output HDMI1 --mode 0xae

As I see mode 0x48 switches to 30 Hz, mode 0xae switches to 60 Hz.

Unfortunately, I cannot confirm your expectations. Menu sounds keep working in both modes.
(This post was last modified: 2015-02-18 09:26 by shturm.)
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 8,129
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 183
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #19
Good - then please to the speaker-test tests from the desktop session.

Verify the sound device to be plughw:0,3 prior by checking aplay -l

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log No answer yet? http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
(This post was last modified: 2015-02-18 09:31 by fritsch.)
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 8,129
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 183
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #20
(2015-02-18 09:25)shturm Wrote:  
(2015-02-18 09:20)fritsch Wrote:  Other test from kodi, the xrandr command you can do via ssh.

Menu sounds not working, after (while running Kodi):
DISPLAY=:0 /usr/lib/kodi/kodi-xrandr --output HDMI1 --mode 0x48

Menu sounds start working after (while running Kodi)
DISPLAY=:0 /usr/lib/kodi/kodi-xrandr --output HDMI1 --mode 0xae

As I see mode 0x48 switches to 30 Hz, mode 0xae switches to 60 Hz.

Unfortunately, I cannot confirm your expectations. Menu sounds keep working in both modes.

It's the other way round.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log No answer yet? http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
find quote
shturm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Dec 2004
Reputation: 0
Location: San Jose, CA
Post: #21
(2015-02-18 09:18)fritsch Wrote:  Also a simple
speaker-test -D plughw:0,3 -r 44100 <- should not work
speaker-test -D plughw:0,3 -r 48000 <- should work

from the desktop session

First of all, this works only if I'm in the Settings screen. If I'm in Home screen, I'm getting "Playback open error: -16,Device or resource busy"

Anyway, this is what I've got:
speaker-test -D plughw:0,3 -r 44100 -- does not work
speaker-test -D plughw:0,3 -r 48000 -- works
speaker-test -D plughw:0,3 -r 44100 -- now works !!

This confirms my previous observation that playback of 48KHz affects subsequent playback of 44.1KHz.
find quote
shturm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Dec 2004
Reputation: 0
Location: San Jose, CA
Post: #22
$ aplay -l
**** List of PLAYBACK Hardware Devices ****
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 3: HDMI 0 [HDMI 0]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 0: HDMI [HDA Intel HDMI], device 7: HDMI 1 [HDMI 1]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
card 1: PCH [HDA Intel PCH], device 0: ALC283 Analog [ALC283 Analog]
Subdevices: 1/1
Subdevice #0: subdevice #0
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 8,129
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 183
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #23
I said: quite kodi before doing those.

kodi will block the audio device for at least one minute (see "keep audio alive" setting)

But those tests are nice.

Redo them, from the desktop, kodi not running and post your findings on bugzilla.

Edit: And capture the dmesg output with the 0xe attached afterwards.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log No answer yet? http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
(This post was last modified: 2015-02-18 09:37 by fritsch.)
find quote
shturm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Dec 2004
Reputation: 0
Location: San Jose, CA
Post: #24
I cannot exit to desktop - Kodi restarts as soon as I enter password.
How to prevent it from restarting?
find quote
shturm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Dec 2004
Reputation: 0
Location: San Jose, CA
Post: #25
(2015-02-18 09:41)shturm Wrote:  I cannot exit to desktop - Kodi restarts as soon as I enter password.
How to prevent it from restarting?

Never mind, figured it out.

The results are the same, without Kodi running:

speaker-test -D plughw:0,3 -r 44100 -- does not work
speaker-test -D plughw:0,3 -r 48000 -- works
speaker-test -D plughw:0,3 -r 44100 -- now works !!
(This post was last modified: 2015-02-18 10:01 by shturm.)
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 8,129
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 183
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #26
You need to change the session, it's a bit hidden on the top right.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log No answer yet? http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
find quote
shturm Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 46
Joined: Dec 2004
Reputation: 0
Location: San Jose, CA
Post: #27
Given the reply of Intel guys ( https://bugs.freedesktop.org/show_bug.cgi?id=75038 ), is there anything else that can be done to intestigate and fix this issue?
(This post was last modified: Yesterday 07:22 by shturm.)
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 8,129
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 183
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #28
You can try to post your issue on the ALSA user mailing list or add takashi iwai (http://www.alsa-project.org/~tiwai/) to the DRM bug report?

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log No answer yet? http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
find quote
Post Reply