Release - "PseudoTV Lite" - Optimized for low power htpc's (ie. AFTV/ATV/Cubox/Ouya/RPi)

  Thread Rating:
  • 3 Vote(s) - 3.67 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Lunatixz Offline
Moderator
Posts: 3,415
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 71
Location: New York
Post: #31
(2015-03-05 16:52)azrael17 Wrote:  
(2015-03-05 16:37)mrdally204 Wrote:  First I'd like to thank you for making this great piece of software. The wife and I use it now more than traditional TV. I run PseudoTV Live on my Ouya and Fire TV. I find it interesting that the slow downs are not consistent nor 100% of the time. The slow downs for me happen in the guide (max 50 episodes, refresh each launch, background updates on, around 70 channels, no plugin/streaming channels). The strange part is sometimes when I launch the guide will be very snappy paging through the available channels. Then the next time I launch it will be so slow that it looks like the box is locked up. Sometimes changing the PTVL skin fixes it, sometimes rescanning the channels, clearing cache etc. I never can find what the underlying issue is nor the perfect way to fix it, but it does not happen every time. Most times it is a very enjoyable experience. I am excited to see the Lite version, but I'm not positive the slow downs are caused by an underpowered machine vs a race condition bug that keep reoccurring.

Sorry if this is out of place, but I wanted to share my experience with it.

I think part of it may be related to the artwork cache. I used to have intermittent EPG slow down and lag as well. I switched from using EPG logos to EPG text and the lag disappeared almost entirely. While I miss the logos the performance benefits are worth it.

Essentially that's what this project is... removing what was "optional" settings in PTVL, in-order to force performance. Technically PTVL can perform just as fast as PTVLite after being properly configured. I understand most users don't want to put the time into learning the complexities of PTVL. Hopefully they will enjoy the simplicity of PTVLite.

[Image: m86j8t6]
[Image: nm9wgdf]
PseudoTV[Live][Lite][Library][Manager][Donate?][Thank & 5★ Me!]

(This post was last modified: 2015-03-05 21:33 by Lunatixz.)
find quote
zzzaaa Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Mar 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #32
Does it also need Pseudo Library to be installed prior to installation?
find quote
azrael17 Online
Senior Member
Posts: 284
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #33
(2015-03-07 09:43)zzzaaa Wrote:  Does it also need Pseudo Library to be installed prior to installation?

Pseudo Library is a separate standalone project and is not needed for PTV Live or Lite.
find quote
wrichards Online
Junior Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Jan 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #34
awesome gonna try it on raspi 2, Thanks mucho for the effort.
find quote
rd1979 Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 275
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 1
Post: #35
Are these 2 addons of yours completely independant? I assume they are, but I feel I must ask before I try it.
find quote
bry- Online
Donor
Posts: 1,449
Joined: Jan 2011
Reputation: 15
Post: #36
(2015-03-10 23:01)rd1979 Wrote:  Are these 2 addons of yours completely independant? I assume they are, but I feel I must ask before I try it.

yes -
find quote
Skunny Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Jun 2012
Reputation: 0
Thumbs Up  RE: "PseudoTV Lite" - Optimized for low power htpc's (ie. AFTV/ATV/Cubox/Ouya/RPi)
Post: #37
Thank you Lunatixz for continuing this project and taking the time to modify this wonderful add-on to support low powered HTPCs. Rofl

A couple of years back, I was running a just a plain vanilla Windows box with XBMC and PseudoTV. I stopped using this configuration due to the fan noise. Fast Forward to now and every TV has HDMI and a Chromecast, Amazon Fire Stick or some other type of streaming device attached to it. Things are much quieter and I've started to get back into the tinkering which leads me up to my question...

Is it possible or is there a setting to not have the program that you are about to watch start from the beginning? My original configuration would start a program already in progress - giving the feel that you were watching regular cable TV - My PseudoTV Lite works fine from the inital install; the program guide works, my channels are populated correctly and my media is streaming from my MB3 box perfectly. The only thing that is driving me crazy is every channel change starts the program on that channel from the beginning and if I return to any channel, including the original starting channel, the program starts from the beginning.

Any help would be appreciated!Angel
find quote
Dallas_Turtle Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mar 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #38
Thank you so much Lunatixz for creating this awesome software! A PseudoTV version of some sort is a must-have for any cord-cutter! Love it!
find quote
hasamba Offline
Senior Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Sep 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #39
hey luna,
can you please list the chtype that the lite version include?
i tried youtube (10) and it doesnt...i though youtube is included in livetv

thanks
find quote
Lunatixz Offline
Moderator
Posts: 3,415
Joined: May 2011
Reputation: 71
Location: New York
Post: #40
(Yesterday 10:38)hasamba Wrote:  hey luna,
can you please list the chtype that the lite version include?
i tried youtube (10) and it doesnt...i though youtube is included in livetv

thanks

Chtypes 0-9

[Image: m86j8t6]
[Image: nm9wgdf]
PseudoTV[Live][Lite][Library][Manager][Donate?][Thank & 5★ Me!]

find quote
Post Reply