Case for RPi v2 and HifBerry DAC+
(2015-03-09, 01:29)sidneysides Wrote: pi-supply now have them for £12 specifically for the HiFiBerry

By the way, I've just ordered a HiFiBerry Dac for my Pi2 - will this be better quality than going through HDMI to my Onkyo amp? I assume that the amp does the work of a DAC? If so, will it be the same quality?? Forgive me, I'm not that technical when it comes to this!

The HiFi Berry Dac is simply doing the same job as the DAC in your Onkyo. The HiFi Berry does a much better job than the internal analogue output solution in the Pi and PI 2, but I don't know how it compares to the internal DAC in your Onkyo. I wouldn't think you would need a HiFi Berry if you have an HDMI Connection to your Onkyo

If you use your Onkyo over HDMI you'll get Dolby Digital and DTS bitstreamed and multichannel PCM over HDMI, which you won't over an analogue stereo connection from the HiFiBerry DAC, so if you have 5.1 speakers and watch 5.1 content on your Pi then you won't get that with the HiFi Berry DAC.
(2015-03-09, 01:29)sidneysides Wrote: pi-supply now have them for £12 specifically for the HiFiBerry

That's just the poor quality (going by reviews) RCA one that HiFiBerry make though.
I'm not sure how I can fix the RPi and Hifiberry into the Modmi case, so I wonder if anyone has any bright ideas?

The problem is that the metal screws to secure the RPi can't be used as the Hifiberry comes with plastic supporting struts that are meant to go through the holes in the RPi, secured with nuts on the underside, with the Hifiberry sitting on these threaded struts and secured to them with plastic screws.