Windows - HOW TO - Configure a Logitech Harmony Remote for Kodi

  Thread Rating:
  • 5 Vote(s) - 4.6 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Warner306 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,666
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 91
Location: Canada
Post: #16
Edit...My question was whether Smart Hub allowed control over Kodi via its web interface. The answer is no. However, Smart Hub-enabled remotes are purported to offer improved performance in reducing latency over older remotes when sending commands by IR.
(This post was last modified: 2015-03-11 03:28 by Warner306.)
find quote
Warner306 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,666
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 91
Location: Canada
Post: #17
I updated Post #8 with the disclaimer that reliance on MCE Keyboard over Windows Media Center SE is up to experimentation and the preference of the user.
(This post was last modified: 2015-03-11 20:28 by Warner306.)
find quote
stuartgreig1978 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Nov 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #18
Just a quick question. After I've set up the Harmony Remote to start tv, switch to kodi etc. Can I then use the same Harmony Remote to control kodi?
find quote
wints Offline
Fan
Posts: 434
Joined: Apr 2011
Reputation: 0
Location: England
Post: #19
(2015-03-12 21:55)stuartgreig1978 Wrote:  Just a quick question. After I've set up the Harmony Remote to start tv, switch to kodi etc. Can I then use the same Harmony Remote to control kodi?
Yes you can Smile

9.1 Cinema Room SATV with Kodi Krypton & emby~Epson TW3200~Homemade 8ft pj screen~AVR~Yamaha RX-A2020~Arcam Alpha 8~Speakers~Monitor Audio RX6 Fronts & RX Centre~RXFX Surrounds~250's Rears~180's Front Presence~BK XXLS400 Sub~8033C AntiMode~HarmonyOne


find quote
Warner306 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,666
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 91
Location: Canada
Post: #20
(2015-03-12 21:55)stuartgreig1978 Wrote:  Just a quick question. After I've set up the Harmony Remote to start tv, switch to kodi etc. Can I then use the same Harmony Remote to control kodi?

You should have read the guide. That was the whole point of writing it.
find quote
bodhi Offline
Fan
Posts: 451
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #21
(2015-03-11 03:19)Warner306 Wrote:  I updated Post #8 with the disclaimer that reliance on MCE Keyboard over Windows Media Center SE is up to experimentation and the preference of the user.

In my experience, Windows Media Center SE is a much better choice with a lot of control keys available on Win 7.
find quote
Warner306 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,666
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 91
Location: Canada
Post: #22
(2015-03-13 23:10)bodhi Wrote:  
(2015-03-11 03:19)Warner306 Wrote:  I updated Post #8 with the disclaimer that reliance on MCE Keyboard over Windows Media Center SE is up to experimentation and the preference of the user.

In my experience, Windows Media Center SE is a much better choice with a lot of control keys available on Win 7.

Why is it a better choice? MCE Keyboard offers far more choices and all of them map directly to the Kodi keymap. I think the arrow keys and player controls have less latency when using Windows Media Center SE. But I can't think of a reason to simply use one over the other. Using both seems to be the way to go. You have twice as many choices when using both.
find quote
bodhi Offline
Fan
Posts: 451
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #23
@ Warner306,

You're absolutely right. It's best to use both. I was thinking about the case when you have to choose between the two, when you've reached the devices limit (7 or 8 with the Harmony 700 or 650).
find quote
Mydriaze Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #24
Thanks for your great guide. Really helped me to setup my Logitech Harmony Touch remote.
On your guide, you speak about "alt+F4" to close directly Kodi. Official command is "ctrl+end". Is there a way to add this via the harmony software or to change the shortcut in kodi? (right now i'm trynig to find a solution)
find quote
Warner306 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,666
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 91
Location: Canada
Post: #25
(2015-03-14 19:13)Mydriaze Wrote:  Thanks for your great guide. Really helped me to setup my Logitech Harmony Touch remote.
On your guide, you speak about "alt+F4" to close directly Kodi. Official command is "ctrl+end". Is there a way to add this via the harmony software or to change the shortcut in kodi? (right now i'm trynig to find a solution)

Alt+F4 closes Kodi. Try it on your keyboard.
find quote
bodhi Offline
Fan
Posts: 451
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #26
@Warner,

You might find this useful. I don't know how up-to-date the info I've included in this post (it's been a while).

How to bind a Harmony key with an XBMC action
find quote
Warner306 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,666
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 91
Location: Canada
Post: #27
(2015-03-15 02:53)bodhi Wrote:  @Warner,

You might find this useful. I don't know how up-to-date the info I've included in this post (it's been a while).

How to bind a Harmony key with an XBMC action

I already described that process but added the link anyways as an additional resource.
find quote
Mydriaze Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Jul 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #28
Great thread, really. But why a XBMC profile already exist on the Logitech database? It's just a question...
find quote
bodhi Offline
Fan
Posts: 451
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 1
Post: #29
(2015-03-08 07:49)Warner306 Wrote:  6. REDUCING LAG & IMPROVING RESPONSIVENESS

Perhaps there should be some info about for certain Harmony remote, such as the 700, inter-device delay is set on the remote itself.
find quote
Warner306 Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 2,666
Joined: Feb 2014
Reputation: 91
Location: Canada
Post: #30
(2015-03-15 17:13)Mydriaze Wrote:  Great thread, really. But why a XBMC profile already exist on the Logitech database? It's just a question...

I haven't looked at the profile, so I don't know. What I do know is most Kodi commands simulate keyboard presses, so it makes more sense to use devices that emulate keyboard presses. This makes it much easier to create a keymap. I am willing to bet the XBMC profile uses generic commands such as "Info," "Guide," "Play," "Pause," etc. and is very limited in its command selection. The Harmony database contains thousands of devices and some profiles are overlooked as a result. From what I've read, the profiles pitched in the guide (MCE Keyboard and Window Media Center SE) offer a wider selection of available commands and map directly to the Kodi keymap.

So, you might be able to get away with using the XBMC or Plex profiles with some fiddling, but you are better off using the profiles recommended in this guide. You get the benefit of having a seemingly infinite selection of commands with database names that map directly to Kodi functions. If your keymap is very basic, however, the XBMC or Plex profiles might have everything you need.
(This post was last modified: 2015-03-15 21:24 by Warner306.)
find quote
Post Reply