Anyone have experience with OrangePi Plus boards?
I have been using kodi (xbmc) for 5+ years now mostly on HTPC builds. Given that those same HTPC were also used as streaming sources, data storage for the remainder of the network etc.. i started looking into low power usage alternatives.
Currently im running a E8400 on an Asus P5B Deluxe with plenty of sata and ide (GASP!!) disks inside...and browsing i stumbled upon this
http://www.orangepi.org/orangepiplus/en.html

Gigabit ethernet is a must for me, im spoiled, i know..
disks can be sold, usb hubs and smaller 2.5" hdds could replace my current sata ones

but the thing is, how will Kodi work on the ·Mali400MP2 GPU
I understand that the Rpi models have awesome support but the gigabit ethernet is a dealbreaker for me..

is/will the orangepi a viable option for 1080p mkv playback?
The GPU isn't as relevant as the VPU - the bit that does the hardware decoding of H264/MPEG2/VC-1 and now H265 content. Not sure what SoC the OrangePi has - the availability of decent open source access to the VPU is the real issue I believe.
It is based on Allwinner, stay away from it. Cedar lib for AllWiner is closed source and Allwinner never show interest to open it or enable hw decodin of audio and video. Go for raspi Pi B model or Pi 2 as they will make great job, but I am not sure just regardin network as gigabit ethernet is must for you.

In case you need small device with tuner there is Wetek play with different DVB tuner types at acceptable price.
Next step up from the RPi2 with Gigabit is of course the Chromebox.

It would help if you put your Location in your user profile, otherwise many more useless questions will need to be asked.

The other option is the ODROID C-1, but beware mods will need to be done to get HDMI CEC working. 23.976fps (24p) video is not perfect, nor is de-interlacing. Otherwise it a powerful little beastie and can run an unofficial version of Openelec.
The AmiLogic SOC line are well supported.