Which hardware to get?
I have been using xbmc for many many years. Actually, my first install goes back to a modded XBOX v1.1. That said, I've never really used all of the features, but I'm in the process of re-configuring my setup.

Currently my setup consists of:

1 - Quad Core PC with 2GB ram (full desktop) connected via RGB.

1 - Foxconn 525 (I think that was the model) which is an Atom processor and has 2 GB of ram.

I did have 2 Foxconn's but one of them died from over heating. The processor was overheating to the point where the box was really hot and then it just died. I had 4GB of ram in that one but installed a bunch of addons. I think the addons are what killed it because the other Foxconn is older but the addons never worked because the ram was too low (at least that is my suspicion).

Anyway... My other Foxconn is showing signs of dying. I was going to replace it with a full desktop because there doesn't seem to be any issues with the one I'm running now, but I have been looking at the Android TV sticks. I like the idea of completely hiding the box. Oh, everything is ethernet connected, not wireless for streaming my video.

I'm wondering if anyone has any real experience with small form factor XBMC/Kodi boxes that also uses addons? There is also the cubox-i that I was looking, but I would like to hear from the community on their experiences.

My preferences:
- VERY fast and responsive between menus and booting
- small in size to be hidden behind the tv preferrably.
- lowest cost possible.

Are the $50-$60 Android TV Sticks any good? Are the slightly more expensive Cubox-iPro's the best? Is it better to go with a desktop because you can't compare the performance?

I would appreciate any advice here.
Start here: http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=94268
Forum Rules (wiki) | Banned add-ons (wiki) | Wiki (wiki) | Quick start guide (wiki)
Thanks for that link, it was awesome!