Kodi 14.2 is choppy

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
Simkin84 Offline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #1
I have been fiddling with Kodi (14.2) for HOURS today, making the move from 12.3.

Everything seems fine, but testing some movies and i noticed they are alot less smooth then on Frodo 12.3

The audio is way more off, i had audio beeing off on frodo also, but fixed it with 200ms delay. On Kodi, i have to use 700ms delay.

The video playback seems to stutter every now and then, and pressing "O" i can see that the fps is jumping from 22 to 24fps and seems unstable. On frodo its stable.

I use the exact same settings as i used on Frodo.

My Hardware is: AMD A10, 8GB 1866RAM, Windows 7 64Bit. Yamaha RX-A2010 and Panasonic Plasma TV.

HTPC: AMD A10-5800K - MSI FM2A85XMA - 8GB DDR3 - 120GB SSD+30TB HDD
Plasma: Panasonic TX-P65VT30
Receiver: Yamaha RX-A2010
Surround: Jamo S608 w/Jamo C60 Cen+Sur
Subwoofer: XTZ W12.18 ICE

Kodi 14.2 w/Shednox v.3.0
(This post was last modified: 2015-04-01 18:10 by Simkin84.)
find quote
Simkin84 Offline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #2
------------------

HTPC: AMD A10-5800K - MSI FM2A85XMA - 8GB DDR3 - 120GB SSD+30TB HDD
Plasma: Panasonic TX-P65VT30
Receiver: Yamaha RX-A2010
Surround: Jamo S608 w/Jamo C60 Cen+Sur
Subwoofer: XTZ W12.18 ICE

Kodi 14.2 w/Shednox v.3.0
(This post was last modified: 2015-04-01 18:03 by Simkin84.)
find quote
Simkin84 Offline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #3
Updated my first post.

HTPC: AMD A10-5800K - MSI FM2A85XMA - 8GB DDR3 - 120GB SSD+30TB HDD
Plasma: Panasonic TX-P65VT30
Receiver: Yamaha RX-A2010
Surround: Jamo S608 w/Jamo C60 Cen+Sur
Subwoofer: XTZ W12.18 ICE

Kodi 14.2 w/Shednox v.3.0
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 8,587
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 201
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #4
Quote:My Hardware is: AMD A10, 8GB 1866RAM, Windows 7 64Bit.

^^ that's a problem byself with the quality of the windows driver.

Debug Log is missing no one can help without.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log No answer yet? http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
find quote
Simkin84 Offline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #5
(2015-04-01 18:08)fritsch Wrote:  
Quote:My Hardware is: AMD A10, 8GB 1866RAM, Windows 7 64Bit.

^^ that's a problem byself with the quality of the windows driver.

Debug Log is missing no one can help without.

Here is a log file. What's happening is that the fps drops 1-2fps and i get a little "hickup". I also have some small artifacts in the picture that i dont have on 12.3

This is on a fresh 14.2 install using the same Audio and Video settings as i use on 12.3. Everything is smooth as butter on 12.3, so i dont get it why 14.2 behave like this.

I'm running HDMI through an Yamaha RX-A2010 Receiver

https://www.dropbox.com/s/g4nerrz714isdiw/kodi.log?dl=0

HTPC: AMD A10-5800K - MSI FM2A85XMA - 8GB DDR3 - 120GB SSD+30TB HDD
Plasma: Panasonic TX-P65VT30
Receiver: Yamaha RX-A2010
Surround: Jamo S608 w/Jamo C60 Cen+Sur
Subwoofer: XTZ W12.18 ICE

Kodi 14.2 w/Shednox v.3.0
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 8,587
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 201
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #6
Upgrade display drivers. Your AMD GPU driver does not support DXVA-HD. If you want to keep old DXVA method, then downgrade to 12.3

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log No answer yet? http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
find quote
Simkin84 Offline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #7
Ok, i tried the newest 15.3 Beta drivers, but still the same. I dont use DXVA or DXVA-HD as render method, i use Pixel Shaders.

Is this an AMD problem, software, hardware?

HTPC: AMD A10-5800K - MSI FM2A85XMA - 8GB DDR3 - 120GB SSD+30TB HDD
Plasma: Panasonic TX-P65VT30
Receiver: Yamaha RX-A2010
Surround: Jamo S608 w/Jamo C60 Cen+Sur
Subwoofer: XTZ W12.18 ICE

Kodi 14.2 w/Shednox v.3.0
find quote
Simkin84 Offline
Member
Posts: 77
Joined: May 2013
Reputation: 1
Post: #8
I think i found the problem!

Deinterlace video has to be set to "Auto" and Deinterlace method to "Auto select", although i used "On" and "De-Interlace" on Frodo, Helix did behave differently on my system.

The choppyness seem to have disappeared, but i'm gonna keep trying out some more video's just to be sure.

HTPC: AMD A10-5800K - MSI FM2A85XMA - 8GB DDR3 - 120GB SSD+30TB HDD
Plasma: Panasonic TX-P65VT30
Receiver: Yamaha RX-A2010
Surround: Jamo S608 w/Jamo C60 Cen+Sur
Subwoofer: XTZ W12.18 ICE

Kodi 14.2 w/Shednox v.3.0
(This post was last modified: 2015-04-02 19:24 by Simkin84.)
find quote