Is RaspberryPi 2 strong enough for live tv/streaming movies etc..
Hi
I am looking for a secondary media center.
It will be connected through wifi (fairly far from router).
it should be able to run in kodi:
1. live tv
2. stream movies in 720p from the different addons, and sometimes 1080p (i am assuming at some point most movies out there will be 1080p so that will be the only option to stream)
3. Stream movies from other computers in the wifi network.
4. allow for web browser, either from within kodi (haven't figured if there is such an add on) or from outside

I read the pick the right kodi box and i can't decide if RaspberryPi2 is the right pick (i tried RapberryPI 1 and nothing moved)

I am a novice with this so :
From "Pick the right kodi box"
When you purchase the codecs it can play any Blu Ray rip you throw at it - do the codecs come with chromebox? i am used to windows where this is not a real problem
The only restrictions otherwise compared to a Chromebox are it can't run every plugin - what is the common denominator of these plugins?
it won't run every skin as well - how about the default skin?
it doesn't have the power to decode really any HEVC and maybe some Hi10p stuff and it can't bitstream HD audio (that is the big one). - are any of these a problem when watching a 1080p?
Oh and I personally wouldn't use it for 1080i live TV unless I really couldn't afford a Chromebox. - how come? how about 720 live tv?

I can afford a chromebox if needed. Does it fit all of my requirements or do i need something else?
If so what OS should i be installing?

Thanks
I've got both a Chromebox (living room) and a RPi2 (bedroom)

Chromebox is better overall and has better deinterlacing for LiveTV.

RPi2 is very good value for money with reasonable deinterlacing for LiveTV. Better than VDPAU-BOB (IMO) that I was previously using with an Atom/ION system.

Both handle streaming media well.

Both running OpenElec.
I have a Chromebox and a couple of Pi 2s running OE.