[FireTV] Major buffering and streaming issues - router problems?
Hi all,
I am a total noob here so please forgive me if I am not 100% up to speed on rules, where to post, what to post etc. I will do my best to be as law abiding as possible Smile

So I picked up a Fire TV and installed Kodi. I tried both Gotham and the latest release (14.2?). The problem below was the same with each.

Basically, I cannot stream anything video related, more or less. Unless its a very small file size / low res. I have tried so many sources, and more or less get the same results throughout. Of course, higher def sources are the biggest offenders as you would expect. Sometimes the video starts then stutters and pauses after a few minutes, sometimes I cant even get it to start.

At first I thought it was the location of the router (even though my Xbox 360 streams just fine and it is side by side with the FireTV downstairs and the router, a D-Link DIR-655, is upstairs). I did a speed test on my cable connection and I get around 35Mbps downstream.

So to test it, I moved the FireTV into the same room as the router, hooked everything up and tried again with more or less the same results. Very little performance difference.

Then I directly wired the FireTV with a network cable into the router and everything worked flawlessly.

So it looks like, somehow, there's a problem with Kodi communicating wirelessly with the router. Netflix on the same device works fine.

I was wondering if anyone had similar problems? I am thinking its a router setting thats causing some sort of timeout but I have no idea what it is. I reset the router to factory and nothing changed. if anyone has any pointers regarding router settings I would be really thankful. Otherwise the FireTV goes back to the store at the weekend!

Many thanks guys