Solved "Allow file renaming and deletion" do nothing
Hello everybody, I'm new to Kodi and this forum.

I'm running my machine with Windows7 Pro 64Bit SP1 and Kodi 14.2 , my movie are stored in a d-Link NAS

I have turn on "Allow file renaming and deletion" in setting. In the movie page, I do right-click (context menu) my movie-> manage>remove>confirm delete from library>confirm delete file on drive (because I'm in Chinese translation, the terms maybe slightly difference with native English interface), the movie file and folder still here, nothing is changed. I have to go into system>file manage and delete over there.

Any thoughts?

Thank you.
Is it possible the account you used to connected to the share and create the library doesn't have the proper access rights to delete a file? Maybe you connect to it using the file manager with a different account with the proper rights.
my NAS is in very simple setup, no any custom account right setup (no user account, no password, it act more like a pure network drive). I raised the question because I could delete the movie in kodi>system>file manager, however the context menu will show the delete confirmation but nothing is done over there....
Kricker is telling you to check the NAS not KODI for the problem.

Try this. Close KODI. Use your normal Windows PC File Manager to navigate into the NAS folder. Try delete something. If you cannot delete this because of NAS file and\or sharing rights.

Make sure you have write access to the NAS.
(2015-04-27, 19:57)BatterPudding Wrote: Kricker is telling you to check the NAS not KODI for the problem.

Try this. Close KODI. Use your normal Windows PC File Manager to navigate into the NAS folder. Try delete something. If you cannot delete this because of NAS file and\or sharing rights.

Make sure you have write access to the NAS.

I can delete the file without problem in windows file manager, so what's next?