Constant hangs when seeking video

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
davelowndes Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
On most but not all videos Kodi will constantly hang when seeking/skipping through video during playback. Usually one 'seek' is fine but skipping twice or will almost guarantee Kodi will freeze and hang. I can alleviate this sometimes by waiting several seconds before attempting another seek but sometimes even this won't work. Video playback itself is flawless. However, after a seek I will get mostly black/pixelated video frames for a few seconds until a full frame is redrawn.

When in a hung state Kodi is unresponsive for several minutes, eventually restarting the GUI and loading the landing screen. I cannot even SSH into the box during this hang.

This is before and after upgrading KodiBuntu to Ubuntu 15.04 (Vivid Vervet) with 3.19.0-16 kernel.

I never saw this problem in earlier XBMC releases, I cannot recall when this started but it was perhaps around about Frodo or later.

Debug log is here: http://xbmclogs.com/pk91kr9ic
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 8,827
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 212
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #2
Won't be fixed - v14 is EOL. Please install v15 nightly and revisit.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log No answer yet? http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
find quote
davelowndes Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
No change unfortunately. Kodi 15 beta has the same problem. Have not been able to get crash logs off the two occurrences of this issue since the upgrade .
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 8,827
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 212
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #4
Use a nightly. and provide some logs.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log No answer yet? http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
find quote
wsnipex Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 4,707
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 107
Post: #5
Looks like a problem in vdpau/gfx driver. How much gfx ram do you have?
find quote
davelowndes Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
256MB?

kodi@htpc:~$ sudo grep -i --color memory /var/log/Xorg.0.log
[ 38.683] (--) NVIDIA(0): Memory: 131072 kBytes
[ 38.728] (II) NVIDIA: Using 768.00 MB of virtual memory for indirect memory access.
[ 38.860] (==) NVIDIA(0): Disabling shared memory pixmaps
kodi@htpc:~$ sudo lspci -v -s 02:00.0
02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: NVIDIA Corporation ION VGA (rev b1) (prog-if 00 [VGA controller])
Subsystem: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. Device 83e9
Flags: bus master, fast devsel, latency 0, IRQ 26
Memory at fa000000 (32-bit, non-prefetchable) [size=16M]
Memory at e0000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=256M]
Memory at f6000000 (64-bit, prefetchable) [size=32M]
I/O ports at dc00 [size=128]
[virtual] Expansion ROM at fbde0000 [disabled] [size=128K]
Capabilities: [60] Power Management version 2
Capabilities: [68] MSI: Enable+ Count=1/1 Maskable- 64bit+
Kernel driver in use: nvidia
find quote
wsnipex Offline
Team-Kodi Member
Posts: 4,707
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 107
Post: #7
this might very well be the problem
find quote
davelowndes Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
I just downgraded to XBMCBuntu 11 and skipping/seeking on the same files works flawlessly. It skips directly to a full frame, without any degradation whatsoever, and continues playback smoothly. This is with +/- 10min and +/- 30 sec jumps as well as ffwd and rwnd. It's like night and day.

I then did an aptitude update to Frodo 12.2 that was available in the repository and that also is flawless. Frodo pretty much did everything I needed anyway so I guess I'll stop here.
(This post was last modified: 2015-05-16 14:23 by davelowndes.)
find quote
fritsch Offline
Team-Kodi Developer
Posts: 8,827
Joined: Aug 2011
Reputation: 212
Location: Karlsruhe
Post: #9
Some other ff / rw changes are currently pending for v15, see: https://github.com/xbmc/xbmc/pull/7146 - please retry with v15 after those are in. Thanks much.

"Your most vocal users are not reflective of your userbase" J.M.

Audio Engine: SPDIF has only 2 pcm channels. DTS, AC3 are encoded via those 2 channels. It's obviously clear that you are not able to change Speaker Layout when running via SPDIF.
No help without a proper Debug Log No answer yet? http://www.catb.org/esr/faqs/smart-questions.html
find quote
uNiversal Offline
Out of Memory
Posts: 6,298
Joined: Oct 2012
Reputation: 148
Location: Binary pulsar
Post: #10
That should fix it. Ive tested.

Did my post help you? ⬇ Add to my + reputation
find quote