Hardware Advice
Question 
Moderator please move this if needed. I've read a lot of posts this morning and couldn't decide best location.

I need some help please. After a recent tragedy I'm struggling to think even vaguely straight so I need to outsource my thinking. I own a relatively new Sony smart TV, a ReadyNas 314 (currently running PLEX) and a powerful ITX rig - all sat in the corner with the TV. I'm new to KODI and I just can't get my head around what I need to do to 'get into' it. No matter how much I Google I can't get a straight answer. So my questions are:-

1. Can my NAS run KODI directly or do I need a stand-alone box/unit etc
2. What is the best way to run KODI, regardless of whether my Nas can do it?

I don't mind spending a bit of money to have a good working setup, preferably something a little idiot proof right now.

Any and all help gratefully received. I'll go back to reading posts and stickies now in the hope I can work it out myself..
Looking at the spec for the ReadyNas 314 it isn't one of the few NAS enclosures with HDMI output, so it won't run Kodi natively. Kodi is a video/audio playback application so any device that runs it needs a video output (USB video output solutions aren't suitable) I suspect that your NAS is running a Plex server rather than a Plex client currently.

So you will need a new bit of hardware to actually run Kodi on. This could be anything from a Fire TV Stick, via a Raspberry Pi 2, a Chromebox or a high-end Core i7 Quad Core HTPC with an nVidia graphics card.

You probably need to write a list of requirements and then use that to narrow down your hardware choice. Examples of questions worth asking yourself :

HD Audio support (do you connect to an AV amp or other 5.1/7.1 sound system - and what connectivity does this have? Do you want to connect directly or via your TV?) Does your current, or future, content have HD Audio?