School me on NAS
I've been running XBMC/Kodi for about 5 years, with all my media on external HDD's attached to my HTPC. I'm going to be upgrading my HTPC to an HP Stream Mini in the very near future and probably adding a second one to my bedroom shortly after that. As such, I'd like to move my media to a NAS so both boxes can access it from one point. Trouble is that I am not the most hardware savvy guy in the world and I know very little about NAS's. So, help me pick an easy to use, efficient and affordable NAS solution that meets the following criteria:

1. Works with Windows (both my Kodi boxes will be Windows builds, and I would like our other computers to be able to utilize it.)
2. 6-8TB storage
3. Easy to install and use
4. As affordable as possible. It doesn't need to be the cheapest available solution, but I don't want a $3K server build either.
Your best resource:
http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/nas

http://www.smallnetbuilder.com/nas/nas-popular

Added:
In the past I had different brands as well as build-your-own. Also had some with Raid. For the past 3-4 years had a WD NAS.
Before making a decision make sure you fully understand backup vs redundancy, read this: http://www.cnet.com/how-to/digital-stora...edundancy/
AFTV (non-rooted + Kodi)
WD My Book Live NAS
I have had good luck with Synology NAS...the software they provide is excellent and works with Windows well. There are others but no experience with them.
Build yourself a Nas Server

Full tower case with maximum drive bay available
Use Nas4free or FreeNas as OS

This option will allow you to expand your drive storage as needed.

Done...
MY CURRENT MEDIA PLAYER | MY HOME THEATER
MINIX NEO U22-XJ COREELEC v19 MATRIX | EGREAT A10 | NVIDIA SHIELD | LG 75 NANO90 DV/HDR+ | Sony 43 Android TV HDR
XBOX SERIES X  | PS4 PRO 4K | JBL 9.1 System 5.1.4 DTS:X/ATMOS