v14 AAC to Dolby Digital Conversion Issues
Hello,

I am new to KODI - XBMC etc. I recently bought an Amazon Fire TV and downloaded XBMC 13.4 Gotham. I use HDMI to connect to an Onkyo AVR which connects to a projector.

Initially, when the input audio source was AC3 5.1 or AAC - it was converted to Dolby and my AVR was playing correctly. For the DTS sound source, no issues as well. I was able to stream music from my Samsung device through XBMC localhost through the AFTV and it was playing the music as Dolby 5.1 through my Onkyo Receiver with great sound quality.

I had some video issues recently and was advised to upgrade from XBMC 13.4 to Kodi 14.2 which I did. It took care of the Video issues but introduced an Audio Conversion issue, If the input audio source is AC3 or DTS, it works fine. But the AAC audio sources are not getting converted to Dolby and just played as 2 channel stereo. I tried all the settings like Enabling Pass through, Enable Dolby Digital Transcoding, DTS capable receiver . tried all permutations and combinations. Nothing works.

What am I missing? Anyone had similar issue and fixed it? Please help.
Try these steps:

http://forum.kodi.tv/showthread.php?tid=...ranscoding
Thanks for your reply, I tried those settings before as well and it did not work.
As far as I know, this has never worked on the fire tv. Not sure if its all android devices or just the fire tv specifically. There were other reports of it when the fire tv came out, but the only responses I've seen were to set the settings like listed above.
Ozblogger, thanks for the post to that thread. I never noticed before because most of the sources I have are either AAC 2.0 or AC3 5.1... I tried to play a AAC 5.1 movie last night and no sound! As suggested in the thread, I needed to set Number of Channels to 2.0, not 5.1, and then could select Enable Dolby Digital Transcoding under Passthrough! Power cycled the box to reset the audio and VOILA!

This was on a CX-S806 S802 powered android box.