HD audio on mac mini

  Thread Rating:
  • 0 Vote(s) - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Post Reply
iorifly Offline
Fan
Posts: 683
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
There is no possibility of having audio in HD using the Yosemite? Just like Windows?
     I'm asking because I bought a home and will install next week, and I read some things that it is impossible to have audio in HD, using Yosemite or any other APPLE system.
     is this true?
find quote
wgstarks Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,599
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 12
Location: North Carolina, USA
Post: #2
True. Might be possible running Linux or Windows but not with OSX.

[Image: all-thin-banner.jpg]
MacMini5,2 HTPC (Helix 14.0/Aeon Nox 5.5/MacOSX 10.8.5)/Onkyo TXNR609/Panny65VT30
(This post was last modified: 2015-07-02 21:14 by wgstarks.)
find quote
iorifly Offline
Fan
Posts: 683
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
@wgstarks,
     Thanks for the answer.
   However bother me what you said you CAN be possible.
  Even installing Windows 8.1 may not work?
find quote
wgstarks Offline
Posting Freak
Posts: 1,599
Joined: Jun 2013
Reputation: 12
Location: North Carolina, USA
Post: #4
I've never personally tested this, but many people have reported success with HD audio when running Windows or Openelec. It's my understanding that the primary reason it's not possible with OSX is that there are no drivers to support it. I believe the hardware is completely capable.

[Image: all-thin-banner.jpg]
MacMini5,2 HTPC (Helix 14.0/Aeon Nox 5.5/MacOSX 10.8.5)/Onkyo TXNR609/Panny65VT30
find quote
sarvajanik Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Mar 2013
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
I'm using a 2012 Mac mini, bootcamped to Windows 8.1 running Kodi (the latest stable release). HD audio passthrough works just fine. I get all HD audio codecs on my receiver.
find quote
SMB-IL Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Oct 2014
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
I'm using a late-2012 Mac mini6,1 running Yosemite (not Windows bootcamp) with Kodi 14.2 and I haven't had an issue at all. I'm running HDMI to a receiver, then to the TV. All audio codecs are working as advertised, including the new-ish DTS-MA and Dolby True Surround. I didn't add anything, just using the standard HDMI cable to the receiver. I would get the system set up and see how it operates.
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Non-Serving Developer
Posts: 13,416
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 137
Location: germany
Post: #7
Just ignore the last post - he didn't get what this thread is about.

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: NFS (wiki)
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Avahi_Zeroconf (wiki)
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ (wiki)
find quote
iorifly Offline
Fan
Posts: 683
Joined: Apr 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Audio HD with Windows 8.1 running on mini mac.
find quote
ajayc0311 Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Jul 2015
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Hi, I have a late 2014 mac mini, No HD Audio (True HD or DTS-MA) but I do get standard Dolby Digital and DTS. I have now boot camped and am running windows 8.1 . Still having the same issue.

Can someone confirm they definitely have HD audio output using Kodi + a Mac Mini whether its using bootcamp or not.

Really struggling...
find quote
Memphiz Offline
Non-Serving Developer
Posts: 13,416
Joined: Feb 2011
Reputation: 137
Location: germany
Post: #10
ensure to use the wasapi output device in settings-system-audio

AppleTV2/iPhone/iPod: HowTo find debug logs and everything else which the devs like so much: click here
HowTo setup NFS for XBMC: NFS (wiki)
HowTo configure avahi (zeroconf): Avahi_Zeroconf (wiki)
READ THE IOS FAQ!: iOS FAQ (wiki)
find quote
CrispyXUK Offline
Junior Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Jun 2011
Reputation: 0
Post: #11
It now gets decoded to LPCM in isengard, which is identical, no configuration needed.
find quote